you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 'only ones', actors, analysis, dreams, entertainment, Hollywood, minimalist, monumental-waste-of-time, movies, repeat offenders, TV

The 300

No, not THOSE 300 (the Spartans – “Molon Labe”, etc.)

Those of you who have read this blog for more than a week (poor bast***s) know me well enough to know I was raised on TV and movies.  I’m still hooked, and love nothing more than wasting my time in front of the idiot box selecting from either live television or the DVR.

Besides, I cannot afford to do much else.

And television has evolved from my childhood in the 50’s (3, 4 or 5 channels, shutting down at night with The National Anthem, followed by a ‘test pattern’ – youngsters, ask anyone born before 1960!) to a multitude of cable and satellite networks broadcasting 24/7, numbering in the hundreds, visible on flat digital TVs, tablets, PCs and even smartphones.  From pretty much anywhere in the ‘civilized’ world!

Of course, much of it is crap!  😛

Didn’t Steve Martin say, “147 channels and nothing’s on.” ?

Of course, I can watch Underwater Argentinian Curling at 0300, if I choose!  (just kidding, but not by much.)

I didn’t pay much attention to the actors of my youth (except the character actors – love them!), specifically, the number.

The few shows from Hollywood, those from NYC, how many actors were in that pool in say, 1956?

Fast-forward to 2016, with all this technology, with all these networks and shows, all these choices…

How many actors in this pool?

I contend it’s roughly 300.  Because of my largely unscientific but copious viewing habits, I’ve noticed actor A on that series (lead) when that series gets cancelled, shows up on a new series (as a second lead) almost immediately!

And if THAT series gets cancelled, they magically appear in a third, almost immediately.  As a special guest.  One week, the guy’s a federal special agent, the next he’s a city cop.  And in 13 weeks (or less) he appears as a metrosexual TV reporter.

Of course, most of these folks are extremely ‘talented’, (or at least pretty people!)

Look at Ted Danson.  He began as a murdered cop in ‘The Onion Field’, Went to ‘Cheers’, then ‘CSI’, then ‘CSI Cyber’ and now ‘The Good Place’.  With lots more in between.

It just seems I keep seeing the same actors in different roles on different shows in different seasons.  Sometimes, it’s the only way I find out the previous show was cancelled!

And watching reruns makes it even more confusing.  I just watched an episode of Law & Order Criminal Intent (2001-2011), with Michael Emerson (as the main bad guy).  He has an ‘affair’ with Cara Buono, whom he ends up murdering.  (Victim #3).

Move to Person of Interest (2010-2015).  Michael Emerson is now Mr. Finch, the creator of ‘the machine’ who spies on everyone, and Cara Buono guest stars as Martine, whose job it is to assassinate Finch and his agents.  While I’m certain Mr. Emerson put in a good word with the casting folks, it further acknowledges the almost incestuous nature of the 300.

And why there are only 300.

Well, back to the idiot box…

Cara Buono

Cara Buono

Michael Emerson

Michael Emerson

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “The 300

  1. Ted Danson was also the state’s attorney in Body Heat, and the 101st Airborne general in Saving Private Ryan who, with his orderly/driver, killed all the Germans when the brick wall fell down between them and the Rangers. (One of my favorite scenes.) He shows up in a lot of places.
    I’ve given up on TV and movies. I don’t care about superheroes or time travel, I don’t like men-are-scum chick flicks, and I’m tired of CGI-infested bloodbaths and comedies that consist of fart jokes. It’s a good thing they invented books.

    Posted by Old 1811 | October 17, 2016, 11:53 am
  2. The list of shows and/or movies which we can tolerate continues to shrink. I grew up in a household without a TV until I was 12, and so cut my teeth on comic books. In fact, books of all kinds. So yeah, I like the well-made superhero movies, and Doctor Who, and the occasional action flick. But books remain my first love.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | October 17, 2016, 12:26 pm
  3. Now it’s 500 channels and nothing on… sigh…

    Posted by Old NFO | October 17, 2016, 2:42 pm
  4. Somewhere I heard that there’s +200,000 members of the Screen Actors Guild but only about 100 are considered “stars.”

    A few years ago I bought a flat screen TV. It’s way out of date now but it doesn’t matter. I don’t have TV per se – I just stream Netfliks. Thinking of adding Acorn. But the stuff I watch most is old movies and 60s TV. “Twilight Zone” comes to mind – William Shatner and Burgess Meredith both had more than one role in the series.

    The kids have cable. I flip through and flip through and then maybe watch some house being renovated. There’s currently a show that makes me want to go to Waco, TX. Never thought I’d want to go to Waco, TX.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | October 17, 2016, 8:01 pm
  5. Several years ago I went through my entire cable scroll to find something to watch. I went through over 100 channels, including the pay ones, and I ended up watching Everybody Loves Raymond. (But only because I would have had to pay to see Naked Bowling.)
    And people wonder why I dropped cable and don’t watch TV anymore.

    Posted by Old 1811 | October 18, 2016, 7:13 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

