you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, blog, blogging, customer service, Internet, monumental-waste-of-time, not guns, software, vigilance

It’s BA-ACK!

Or, more correctly, I came back to …

FIREFOXff

Regular readers know I’ve had numerous issues with computer browsers.  IE (in all her permutations, lastly 11), Chrome, Vivaldi, Ice Dragon, Blue Moon, ad infinitum ad nauseum…

I just cannot seem to get and use a browser without it eventually becoming buggy.  (and yes, I have and use security and anti-malware software!)

Most recently, I was utilizing Blue Moon, but it seemed to be getting slower, and almost every time I wanted to leave a comment on someone’s blog, I got this lovely game:

Select all images with a store front.
Click verify once there are none left.

and had to page through store fronts, trees, grass, rivers etc. until the software was happy I was a human being!

Sigh.

SO, I went back to FF, updated to the latest version, and we are off to the races!

Until the next time…

Sigh.

And, don’t even get me started on Windows 10!  I installed it (making security adjustments recommended by my good friend Borepatch, and others), and it has been working fairly well, for a Microsoft product.

HOWEVER,

Of late, daily, they attempt to download automatic updates.  My machine goes through the motions, and restarts a number of times.  Then, I get THIS message:

20161020_092952

And everything works fine until the next day, when it begins all over again!

Attempts to contact Microsoft have been met with automatic responses making reference to Windows 8 (which I have never had nor used), so it appears I am doomed.

It’s Groundhog Day all over again!

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “It’s BA-ACK!

  1. You have certainly had your issues with browsers. The latest version of Firefox has blocked certain images for no apparent reason, so I’ve abandoned it & use IE for Blogger and blogging. I suspect we’ll see more, rather than fewer glitches as time goes on. But after the EMP attack, “blogging” will be reduced to “tales around the campfire.”

    I hope that’s a joke. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | October 23, 2016, 10:25 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

