you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', birthday, celebrate, enthusiasm, friends, guns, SIG-Sauer

Guffaw – Now Less Gun Poor!

(as an unintended follow up to my previous post)

I’ve recounted from time-to-time in these pages about having slowly developed a small collection of firearms, only to have the 800 pound safe and her contents of the same removed in my absence.

Fifty-one guns?  An ‘arsenal’ to some.

Then Life events significantly decreased my income, making it impossible for me to rebuilt my collection.  Sad to be sure.

Thursday last, Thanksgiving, was coincidental with my birthday.  And, with the exception of one greeting card (from my insurance agent) no other cards or gifts were received.  Even though three folks did gift me with musical versions of one birthday song or another – which were nice gestures.

It would have been nice to receive a gift of some kind, though…(I’m NOT asking!)

Moving into Friday, my lovely sister took me to lunch at my favorite pizza place, and gifted me with a card and CASH!  Not enough for new (or used) ordinance, but very surprising and special nevertheless.

THANK YOU!

Upon returning home, my roommate was sitting on the couch, watching TV, and playing with her firearms.  She has a small collection, including a couple I gifted her with when we were dating.

She hands me her Sig Sauer P245 (one of the aforementioned gifts – after clearing it, of course) and states, “Happy Birthday! And Merry Christmas!”

(Me) “Wha…?”

After wrestling a few moments with the moral implications of her giving me my gift back as a gift, I said, “Thank you!”

I now have my trusted 1911 (the Bob Hall Signature Model), the S&W 442 electroless nickel, a single-shot pellet pistol sent me by an Internet friend a couple years ago, and the Sig Sauer P245.

My collection is being rebuilt – slowly!

Good things come to those who wait – sometimes even if they are impatient and brooding.

🙂

 

not precisely as pictured

not precisely as pictured

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Guffaw – Now Less Gun Poor!

  1. Nice! And you know that was a gift from the heart.

    Posted by Old NFO | November 27, 2016, 11:16 am
  2. It has been truly stated that no man is poor, who has friends. She’s a good one. And you, sir, are richer!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 27, 2016, 6:08 pm
  3. Congratulations!

    Of course now you have to come up with the price of a good holster…

    Posted by Joel | November 28, 2016, 8:41 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: In Search Of… | Guffaw in AZ - January 30, 2017

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

