you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', alcohol, being human, cartoons, choices, control, drugs, dysfunction, errors-in-judgement, family, food, health, monumental-waste-of-time, personal problem, personal responsibility, vigilance

Drugs Of Choice

donutsI’ve an addictive personality.  I come by this honestly, as both my parents were also afflicted.  It killed them both.

Before you get all worried, I’m not addicted to tobacco, as my Mother was.  My Father liked his cigars and his alcohol.

And his excess food.

The S.A.D. (Standard American Diet) – too many refined carbs, too much protein, too much white sugar.

I, too, like food.  Sometimes to excess.  Including sugar.

And, I’ve been diabetic since 2002.

The Good Rev. Paul posted recently regarding Krispy Kreme DonutsNow, I like LOVES me a good doughnut!  The problem is unlike normal folks, stopping at one, for me, can be difficult.  And here in college/commuter town USA, we are surrounded by doughnut shops!  The ubiquitous Dunkin’, Krispy Kreme, and many local emporia.

SO…I must make the choice.  And sometimes I partake.

Fortunately, it’s not too often, and not a dozen-at-a-time.

I’m reminded of a cartoon, long ago in Playboy.  (Buck Brown?  Gahan Wilson?  Which I was unable to locate it on the ‘Net)

An older couple in their rocking chairs, on their front porch.  Both are quite obese.  And they are chowing-down.  Between them is a large bucket of fried chicken.  Just visible, to the side of the house, is a square, striped building(!?)

And one says to the other, “Sometimes, I wish they hadn’t moved in next door…”

Today, give me strength.

Thankfully, the nearest are at least a mile away, and I’ve no funds.  And, it’s ‘cold’ out (40° – sorry, Rev. Paul!)

🙂

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Drugs Of Choice

  1. When I worked at a busy fire station, we lived on fast food at work because there wasn’t time to cook anything decent.
    Trouble is when you go on calls to those places and see the kitchens, the choices start to get narrowed down quickly.

    I’m glad I don’t have a sweet tooth but once every few months or I’d be fatter than I am!

    Posted by KM | December 5, 2016, 8:58 am
  2. Yes, we love Krispy Kreme donuts when they’re “fresh hot now”. No, large quantities aren’t good for me. Will I eat one? Ja</I) sure, you betcha. Do I stop and get them daily/weekly/monthly? No, to all those. Once in awhile is plenty. And just for the record, it's -10° this morning. 40 would be entirely too warm. Lord willing & the creek don't rise, it'll be several months before we see temps above freezing again.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 5, 2016, 11:04 am
  3. Chocolate, it is and always has been my ‘drug’ of choice. Besides, it is what is what keeps me sweet and lovable. Don’t believe me? Deprive me of it for a while, trust me, you WON’T like the result!
    Little known fact: chocolate is the real foundation of the food pyramid.

    Posted by GomeznSA | December 5, 2016, 2:09 pm
  4. Hey now, you’re dissing the classic aviator’s breakfast there… A donut, cup of coffee and a cigarette, then go fly! 🙂

    Posted by Old NFO | December 5, 2016, 3:09 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

