you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, disability, disease, Facebook, friends-in-need, good wishes, gratitude, lessons, life, Marines, marriage, memories, military, whining, whining less

Again With The Gratitude!

I’m disabled.  For a number of reasons, including lymphoma.  I don’t make much money on disability.  I’ve an old, beater car, without working A/C.  I rent a room in which to live.  I’ve no romantic relationship in my life.  I have chronic pain issues.  They will never get better.

Sometimes, as above, I whine about these things.  The holidays do not help.

But, The Universe usually doesn’t let me sit on the pity pot too long…

Some time back, I reached out to a friend-of-long-ago on Facebook.  And, he never responded.  Oh, well.  He was a college classmate, who became my boss (for a time) then a good friend.  And we lost track of each other because of Life.

I was always a little envious of him.  In college, he was in good shape, having just left The Marines.  He

Archer

Archer

was handsome.  Sparkling blue eyes, a shock of black hair, chiseled jaw and a permanent five-o’clock shadow with a blue/black beard undertone.  He kinda resembled the adult cartoon character Archer.  And his wife was gor-geous!  (Maybe that was the most envious part?)

Well, I finally heard back from him on Facebook!

We all have our ‘stuff’.  He is no different.

He’s divorced, and NOT friendly with his ex. (I am with mine.)  He, too is on disability, brought about by his military service.  He has a type of chronic leukemia.  Not necessarily lethal, but in need of regular treatment. (Which he now receives).

And he told me he had been homeless for ELEVEN YEARS!!!

He is now working with other homeless veterans to help them get back on their feet and find places to live.

And to think I was whining earlier…

GRATITUDE

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Again With The Gratitude!

  1. Even though I know I have been very lucky in life for the most part, I still will whine about this and that. Then I hear about someone like your friend who seemed to have it all and has apparently lost it all.
    As long as we try to make today better than yesterday, maybe tomorrow will be better than today, all we can do is try.

    For being as big a screw up as I am, I’ve been so much more blessed in my days on this rock than cursed.
    Thanks for writing and helping to keep it all in perspective.

    Posted by KM | December 10, 2016, 1:03 pm
  2. A very wise preacher once said, “Never complain about how life has treated you, until you first compare yours with all those around you. You’re probably MUCH better off than you think.” We’ve followed that advice for years, and he was right.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 10, 2016, 1:23 pm
  3. Yep, we are always better off than someone else… When we have a place to lay our head and food on the table, we’re WELL ahead of the game.

    Posted by Old NFO | December 10, 2016, 3:31 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

