you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 9mm, ammunition, choices, free market, remembering, shooting, tacticool

9 MM – New and Improved?

One of my memories of first getting into shooting (way back in the ’70s) was buying, carrying and shooting SuperVel 9mm ammunition.  If I remember, it was a 90 gr. bullet, hollow point, and cost roughly twice what ball 115/125 gr. ammo cost ($13.95 vs. $6.00, per 50).  It was alleged to leave the barrel at 1375 fps! (I’m certain this was a test barrel, as opposed to my lowly Model 39-2 Smith 4″).

I would spend my hard-earned 1970’s cash on SuperVels (when I could afford them) based on the idea that I should practice with what I carried.

But, as with many things, SuperVel went TangoUniform.  And ammo designer Peter Pi went to another company. (I still have an ammo wallet of 18 rounds I acquired somewhere – don’t tell anyone!  Kinda silly as I currently do not currently own any 9mm pistols…)

Fast forward to now.  Oleg Volk (photographer extraordinaire and gun rights advocate) posted on VolkStudio Blog the following:

Better Sporting Ammunition: new on AllOutdoor

Velocity Munitions 9mm.

(from the link, in part)

I’ve mentioned “Zeurillium” (zinc alloy) bullets before. MI Bullet offers a 1050fps 90 grain load that has next to no recoil and excellent accuracy. It works very well in blowback pistols like Hi-Point C9 and in conventional tilt-barrel locked breech semiautos. Due to the nonexistent recoil, it does not work in rotating breech pistols like Beretta Cougar or my favorite GP XCalibur. Should I wish to run it exclusively, XCalibur does come with a weaker recoil spring that would accommodate the lightly loaded round, but then I would have to change it out when switching to the carry load.

Fortunately, Velocity Munitions is about to start selling the full-power 1400fps version of this load. Fans of 7.62×25 Tokarev round will observe that the bullet weight and the velocity are very similar between the two loads. While the 9mm load doesn’t expand, it starts out with slightly larger frontal area and does have a decent meplat for punching clean holes. Since the zinc alloy is harder than lead, it has overall penetration similar to jacketed ball.

Now I’m an ‘old-school’ guy and have graduated to heavier, wider projectiles.  BUT, the velocity of these rounds do interest me.

Now, if I could just afford a 9mm pistol?  😦

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “9 MM – New and Improved?

  1. So many firearms, so many choices, so little money.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 11, 2016, 10:14 am
  2. Meh, yet another ‘BEST ROUND EVAR’… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | December 11, 2016, 2:09 pm
  3. Hit enter too soon… But only if you do this, this and this, which means you can’t shoot full power loads… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | December 11, 2016, 2:09 pm
  4. When they have some actual shootings to compare to currently used loadings, it might be something to look at. Remember when Glaser Safety Slugs were supposed to be the Next Big Thing? They were AWESOME as long as your target wasn’t more than 2.5 to 3 inches thick!

    Meanwhile, it’s Federal HSTs for me and if those run out, (not likely) I still have the Winchester Ranger T series I had before the HST switch. Speer Gold Dots are still available just about anywhere so there’s always those.
    All proven rounds in real life, real deal shootings.

    Posted by KM | December 11, 2016, 10:44 pm
    • I remember Glasers. And used to carry them, as a first and second round.
      Today, it’s Hornady Tactical Duty 220 gr .45 ACP and Federal Premium Nyclad 158 gr. .38 Specials.

      But, in the back of my mind, is Jim Cirillo, “Stopping power BEGINS at 12 gauge!” 🙂

      Posted by guffaw1952 | December 12, 2016, 8:22 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

