you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', choices, rifle, riflery, training

Ruger 10-22

I was never much of a .22 guy.  Probably because I wasn’t brought up with them.  Most of my firearms life has been with centerfire pistols. (I did acquire a Ruger semiautomatic and a S&W revolver in .22 to use in training, late in the game.)

But my first .22 was a Ruger 10-22 rifle.  Basic model.  Ordinary walnut, open sights, blue.  (Eventually, I did acquire a couple ‘hi-cap’ magazines for her, when the Clinton’s shoved their so-called ‘assault weapons ban’ on the public.

Of course, when my vault was taken, so were the pistol, revolver and rifle.

And, I frankly forgot about them.

But, The Firearm Blog (bless their hearts!) reminded me.

If you are looking for a reliable, inexpensive Christmas gift for the new shooter in your family (or for yourself!) this one is it!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Ruger 10-22

  1. I’m probably going to start a flame war here, although it’s not my intent. My older daughter is an Appleseed instructor, and she sees just about every brand of .22 rifle that’s out there. She’s become quite familiar with most of the models, and helps to clear/clean/repair any number of them at each event. She also sees a number of folks with brand-new, never-fired rifles they’ve purchased for the event.

    The point? Ruger 10/22s are rough, out of the box, and require quite a bunch of attention to correct their deficiencies before they’re really useful. The Marlin .22s, in contrast, are ready to go after unpacking, 99.7% of the time (she says). Again, that’s based on her experience teaching hundreds of students with dozens of rifle brands.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 16, 2016, 11:00 am
  2. I had a law enforcement teacher at MCC who claimed a .22 short was the most dangerous round in the world. It has the power to go thru one side of a skull but not enough to get out of the other, and just bounced around in the brain for a while.

    Posted by John C | December 16, 2016, 11:36 am
  3. I’d never owned a 10/22 until two years ago. Love my old 39A… My 10/22s been ‘worked on’ so it’s a smooth accurate (and suppressed). Fun little gun

    Posted by Old NFO | December 16, 2016, 2:40 pm
  4. Funny you should mention 10/22s; my wife and I just took ours down to the range today for the first time in a while. Mine’s pretty much a stock carbine, birch stock (I think) except I did the bolt release mod so it behaves more like a normal gun. My wife has a Takedown, which has required a bit of fussing with, but seems pretty good now.

    But …. “a rifle everyone should own”? I thought everyone did!

    Posted by SiGraybeard | December 16, 2016, 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

