you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', Christmas, family, food, holidays, lessons, quality

Kitchen Secrets

Well…A kitchen secret.

Okay, for anyone who cooks, not a secret at all!

I don’t cook as often as I used to.  This is because a combination of neuropathic foot pain and the lesser availability of funds for quality ingredients.   In short, standing for any length of time is painful, and I can’t afford the fine ingredients I would like.  Yes, I’m a kitchen snob.

Also, my roommate gets cabin fever and likes to go out – even if it’s for ‘cheap fast food’.  So, there’s that.

I recently posted my standard recipe for Garlic Goldfish.  A staple in my Christmas household for over 30 years.  I used to use Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce™ initially, because many times it was the only brand available.  And certainly the most famous.

But, in recent years, with my income having been cut (going on disability), I felt the need to cheapen the recipe.  After all Worcestershire is Worcestershire, right?

WRONG!

The past few years, I used whatever was on sale, sometimes a ‘name brand’ in condiments, like French’s™, other times Ralph’s Brand (my nom-de-brand for a generic product).

And I found the Goldfish have suffered for it.  They just didn’t taste the same.

SO, after making an initial small batch using French’s this year, I bit-the-bullet and spent the extra .75 and went back to Lea & Perrins™.

What a difference!

Now I can visit my Sister this Christmas Eve with confidence.

Accompanied by quality Goldfish, and my ex-wife (it’s a long story).  🙂

goldfish

FTC – neither Lea & Perrins, French’s, Ralph’s Brand or Pepperidge Farm Goldfish Crackers gave me anything!  Go make your own!

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Secrets

  1. We certainly understand your discovery. When we moved to Alaska, way back when, my wife spent a couple of trying months. We discovered that many of the food brands we’d used for years, back in the Midwest, simply didn’t exist up here. A couple of her patent recipes have never tasted quite as good, since, but most do. It took some experimentation, and the similar discovery that sometimes only the original produces the desired results.

    By the way – Merry Christmas, Bro.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 24, 2016, 11:01 am
  2. Enjoy your Christmas Guff! 🙂
    The same to all your regular readers too, Merry Christmas!

    Posted by KM | December 24, 2016, 11:44 am
  3. Those are a staple! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Posted by Old NFO | December 24, 2016, 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

