you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, bleg, choices, dangerous, equipment, gimps, good wishes, health, money, pain

The Horrible Chair (A Bleg)

Being disabled, including a fused right hip, makes raising up from seated, especially of the lower variety chair, difficult, painful and sometimes ne’er impossible.

So, after my roommate’s stepmother passed, when we were tasked with emptying her home for sale, I was most grateful I was offered her ‘lift chair’!   Having a fulcrum in the front of the recliner, it lifts one up out of the chair from seated. The process is reversed to sit.

pride-lc105-electric-recliner-lift-chair

Quite nice, really. 

The control extends the chair to operate as a recliner, and even lays out flat, for sleeping!

However, it’s been in regular use for a few years now, and the controller module is failing!

Meaning it will no longer recline, is stuck in one sitting position, and sometimes will not elevate.

A problem for me, meaning my knee often goes out when I get up! Sometimes I can get it back into place in twenty seconds – sometimes not in twenty minutes.  Sigh.

And it’s VERY painful.

(And knee braces are not possible, for too many reasons to go into here.)

A problem for my roommate (besides having to listen to me yell and whine) because SHE will need the chair soon to sleep in (post shoulder rotator cuff surgery). (I’ll be sitting in a straight chair in the interim.)

And a replacement control unit is almost $100 !

Funds are always tight, even more so now with her working less with the bad shoulder.  She hasn’t worked a ‘regular’ work week in over a year, with her many health issues.

Sigh.

I don’t usually bleg, but contributions to my PayPal account (on the right sidebar) in any amount would be most appreciated!

Failing that, a good thought or prayer if that’s what you do.  She will probably miss 12 weeks of work.

The surgeon says if she doesn’t have the repair surgery soon, it will become a replacement (!)

And please don’t tell her I asked – she’d have a fit. (she doesn’t always read the blog.)

Thank you for your kind consideration!  🙂

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Horrible Chair (A Bleg)

  1. I hope a solution comes quickly.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | January 18, 2017, 2:17 pm
  2. Done and done…

    Posted by Old NFO | January 18, 2017, 2:23 pm
  3. Email me your mailing address. I don’t use paypal but I will send you a check

    Posted by anni non omuss | January 18, 2017, 11:10 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

