you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 9mm, enthusiasm, equipment, guns, military, old-school

It’s The SIG Sauer P320!

(from TFB in part)

MHS Contract Awarded To The SIG Sauer P320!

The Sig Sauer P320 was selected as the winner of the Modular Handgun System contract on January 19th, 2017. This was the largest weapons contract that the Department of Defense has awarded in the last 32 years for a small arms replacement program. You can read the full details over at The Firearm Blog at the below link.

Breaking Story on The Firearm Blog: http://bit.ly/2jIiPtD

This story has come out the past few days, obviously overshadowed by political events of the day.

(It’s difficult to imagine we’ve had the Beretta M9 for 32 years!)

Of course, special ops/special team folks will still get to carry that which they choose, I imagine(?)  Like the venerable 1911 and the Seals’ Sig Sauer P226.

There has been a back and forth thing with Sig Sauer regarding U.S. versus European production over the past few years.  I imagine U.S. production will be required to pick up for the increased demand.  And production security.

If I had the funds, I’d like to own one.  (I don’t).  I did have a Beretta back-in-the-day as well as a number of 1911s.

1911s are my first choice.  I’m old-school.  🙂

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “It’s The SIG Sauer P320!

  1. Despite the recently-offered opinions that the 1911-A1 is the “least advantageous” sidearm for personal defense, I’ll keep carrying it. It’s what I have. “The one you have with you is better than the one you left at home (or at the store).”

    Posted by Rev. Paul | January 21, 2017, 12:28 pm
  2. The 320 I shot had a great trigger for a striker fired handgun. It wasn’t even one of the zooty Bruce Gray versions. I bet those are really SWEET.
    Good news for SIG. Mine are still old school folded steel slide-aluminum frame versions.

    Posted by KM | January 21, 2017, 6:51 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Glock To Army On SIG MHS Contract: Not So Fast | Guffaw in AZ - March 3, 2017

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

