you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, being human, choices, credit, friends, maintenance, personal problem, surprise, tools, whining

The Mouse On The Drain

(not to be confused with The Mouse On The Moon, or other Duchy of Grand Fenwick tales!)

“Welcome to the drain, gentlemen!”  😛

My roommate and I share both household upkeep and maintenance.  To the best of our abilities.  Between disabilities, health conditions, arthritis, age, pain and shared whining, sometimes things are not as pristine as either of us would like.

(The fact we both have an over-sufficient amount of ‘stuff’ doesn’t help, either!)

Of course, this had little to do with today’s story…

Being the male in the house, many (not all) of the yuckier tasks fall to me.  And sometimes, it’s just the “luck of the draw”.

Today was one of those days.

The past couple of days while visiting the shower, I noticed what we always called when I was married (back in the 80’s) the mouse on the drain.  That is, a disc of hair jetsam on top of the drain grate, starting to inhibit shower drainage.

Back in the 80’s, it was roughly the size of a half dollar, and easily disposed of.

And, of course, not wearing my corrective lenses in the shower, it could have been something else – as in this case it was, a small round grey plastic comb.  (My roomie and I share a Jack-and-Jill bathroom.)

And she does many hair-related things in there, with a multitude of chemicals and preparations.  I have shampoo and conditioner.

Fast forward to this morning.  Having picked up the plastic comb, I thought I’d be free of the ‘mouse on the drain’.

Not so fast, there, bucko!

The real mouse on the drain – or, in this case the rat or nutria(!), had wrapped itself into the workings of the grate, and was hanging (yuch!) down into the drain proper!!  And the shower floor was beginning to fill with water!

Fortunately, my hair is in need of cutting and is maybe a third of an inch long.  So, I’m thinking I’m not the main culprit. (ignoring body hair additions here for discretion).

I was able to complete my shower and listened to the slow-but-inevitable noisy drainage, fortunately before it crested into the bathroom proper.  Then, I picked up a proper tool to remove the drain cover (a long hemostat that is left in the bath for this very purpose – what earlier functions it may have had I can only imagine!  🙂  )

And took it upon myself to remove the long, tangled, fist-sized wet hair clumps from the grate and dispose of them.

After having done that, I policed the opening of the drain pipe for any additional hair/soap remnant escapees.

And replaced the grate.

I washed my hands and exited the bath.

I’m hoping next time I will notice the impending crest a day or so sooner.  And be able leave the mouse on the drain for someone else…

😛

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “The Mouse On The Drain

  1. It would be nice if such things didn’t happen, but they do. And someone has to take care of them. Sounds like you were on duty when the call came in, and … well, sometimes you just have to embrace the suck. :/

    Posted by Rev. Paul | February 13, 2017, 11:57 am
  2. Heh, yep, YOU had the duty… At least you got it out before it disappeared and you had to call the plumber to unplug it!

    Posted by Old NFO | February 13, 2017, 3:18 pm
  3. Heh. I have a long plastic thingy that has “teeth” that hanfs in my tub. It’s flexible and quite nice for peridically running up and down in the drain to remove clotted hair ick without having to do surgery on the drain itself.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | February 13, 2017, 6:50 pm
    • Nice!
      This is a two-story townhouse. So any missed drops a long way.
      I occasionally use drain cleaner to keep things clear, regardless!

      Posted by guffaw1952 | February 13, 2017, 7:33 pm
      • Drain chemicals don’t eat hair. Virtually nothing does. What it may do is break down the gunk that tends to hold the hair in a larger clump (makeup and other oils that stick to hair). The occasional squirt of of dishwashing soap down the drain may help. Use the good stuff, not that dollar store junk.

        Posted by Will | February 13, 2017, 8:45 pm
      • Thanks for the info!

        Posted by guffaw1952 | February 13, 2017, 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

