you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, being human, choices, education, entertainment, humor, monumental-waste-of-time, old-school, pet peeves, radio, remembering

Werd Play

I like speaking and writing correctly.  Sometimes, I even succeed at so doing.  🙂

Perhaps a better title for this post would be Word Pet Peeves.

IRREGARDLESS

I loathe the use of this instead of the correct word, REGARDLESS.  Sadly, the O.E.D. (Oxford English Dictionary) has added this variant as a real word, because it is in common use.

SUPOSABLY

My guess is people were trying to pronounce SUPPOSEDLY, and stumbled.  Or mis-heard.  Then adopted it as correct.  It’s not.

PERBATIM

I used to work with an investigator.  An educated man, I can only surmise he mis-heard VERBATIM, and ran with it.

(One from my roommate)  FORTE

When one is good at something.  You may notice an accent is missing.  It is NOT FORTE’ !  And is pronounced fortAgain, something done wrong in common usage.  Look it up.  I had to.

And don’t get me started on mis-heard song lyrics!  I blame overly loud speakers, concert noise and the tinny AM radios of my youth.  Any suggestion that over indulgence in alcohol or other chemicals does not apply – to me, anyway!  😛

There have been books written about them.

Doughnuts make my brown eyes blue

There’s a bathroom on the right.

Hold me closer Tony Danza

‘Scuse me while I kiss this guy.

I’m certain you can add to the list(?)

h/t Tomi

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Werd Play

  1. I’ve not had enough coffee to offer more than one peeve: those who use “then” when it should be “than”, i.e., “It’s more then forty yards away.” Or the variant that breaks several rules at once: “My situation is no different then yours.”

    Okay, I’m going to stop now, as I can feel a rant building.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | February 16, 2017, 8:58 am
  2. But “for-TAY” sounds French and sophisticated! So it’s correct! Irregardless of what you supposably think!
    My wife, a big HGTV fan, has noticed that now, kitchens are “functionable.”

    Posted by Old 1811 | February 16, 2017, 11:56 am
  3. I scream and shake both fists at the TV when our local weather man mentions ‘pop-up’ rain showers. What are these storms, like artisian wells?

    Posted by poletax | February 16, 2017, 6:38 pm
  4. “Ashley’s dishes”

    Posted by Dennis in SC | February 16, 2017, 7:42 pm
  5. Using “accurate” and “precise” incorrectly. Also, confusing “historic” and “historical.” A local business cluster has a big, professional, and perminent sign up that refers to “historical Charles Town.” Makes me want to yell at it every time I pass by.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | February 18, 2017, 7:37 pm
  6. I actually have a clip of John Fogerty using bathroom on the right at the end of Bad Moon as a joke!

    Posted by mbumgua | February 23, 2017, 2:13 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

