you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 9mm, enthusiasm, equipment, Glocks, guns, military, old-school

Glock To Army On SIG MHS Contract: Not So Fast

(from Free North Carolina)

Glock is protesting the military’s decision to replace its current sidearm with the relatively new SIG P320-based XM17. The military selected the SIG design to replace the aging Beretta M9 series pistols in service late last year.

The protest, filed with the U.S. Government Accountability Office, needs a response from the U.S. Army Materiel Command by June 5th of 2017.

Until the Army responds to the protest the switch from Beretta pistols to SIG pistols will not move forward. Time will tell if this is a business formality or if it will alter the course of the Army’s hunt for their next sidearm.

More @ Guns America
Last I knew, Glock didn’t have any U.S. production facilities (?)  Kinda a deal breaker if they somehow ultimately win this p***ing contest.
(Of course, how long it would take to establish one? – witness Beretta)
I like Glocks.  I like Sigs.  The general consensus amongst gun folks (based on my tiny, unscientific sample) is that either one would be sufficient.
Time, or rather the DOD, will tell!
About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Glock To Army On SIG MHS Contract: Not So Fast

  1. I just wish they would go with the 45 ACP cartridge.

    Posted by bobb topp | March 3, 2017, 7:55 am
  2. Ever since the DoD decided that uniformity of ammo with the UN/EU was the way to go … sheesh. I can’t even make myself opine about it. “Forget it, Jake. It’s the Department of Defense.” I doesn’t have to make sense. Remember the $400 hammer and the $600 toilet seat?

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 3, 2017, 9:50 am
  3. One more set of BS protests… sigh And the toilet seat was $4.00 The ENCLOSURE it sat on was a strength member, and was $600.00 Double sigh…

    Posted by Old NFO | March 3, 2017, 11:35 am
  4. Protests are petty standard stuff when you consider the millions in potential revenue.
    The 320 SIG is a good gun if the sample size of 1 that I shot is typical. I’d love to have one but I’m too deep in the G platform since I started winning them and I’m on a fixed income.
    {{checks lottery numbers – nope, still broke}}

    Posted by KM | March 3, 2017, 4:54 pm
  5. GLOCK has a factory in Smyrna, GA. They already sell pretty much everything they make and would have to add quite a bit of capacity to handle a .gov contract.

    Posted by Brass | March 4, 2017, 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

