you're reading...
auto repair, facts, health, legal stuff, monumental-waste-of-time, personal responsibility, PI biz, whining

A Fender Bender?

…or scratches?

So my roomie J and I travel together ‘across town’ yesterday from the suburbs to Central Phoenix, to the hospital where she is scheduled for rotator cuff surgery on March 21.  This is her preop visit, blood work and X-rays.  And, of course, paperwork.

And after an hour or so of that nonsense, we traveled farther West to (Jack Wheeler’s) Original Hamburger Works for a late lunch.  (We add the prefix Jack Wheeler, proudly.  He was the office manager of Tom Ezell’s Investigations and Polygraph.  We did pre-employment polys for Hamburger Works (when it was legal to do so).  And, if we said we were going out for lunch to Hamburger Works, he always emphatically corrected us, adding the ORIGINAL to the name, in that great, bass voice he was known for!

Sadly, Jack passed in 1985.  Pre-employment polygraphs stopped in 1986, except for police, etc.

After a yummy lunner (a late lunch), we headed back home.

J had a prescription she wanted to drop off at her Walgreens, so I headed there before home.  I was driving (as she had alcohol, I had not), and driving her Honda Element remains slightly foreign to me. (no pun intended)  But all was well.

Until I made the turn into the Walgreens’ parking lot, circling the building to the drive-through pharmacy window (the building used to be a bank).

As I made the turn, some fool in a pickup truck backed out.  As I was driving behind him!  I sped up (as best I could in a small lot) and performed an evasive maneuver.

But, he clipped us!

I pulled forward out of the path of parking lot traffic, and he pulled back into his space.  I exited to inspect the damage.  Best I could tell was a couple of scratches on the plastic part just below the fuel opening.  No serious damage, but noticeable.

I turned to greet the other driver and exchange information.  HE had hit US on private property.

And he had backed out again and left!

(I’m reminded that over 10% of Arizona’s motorists are uninsured!)

I had not taken a cell phone picture or recorded his license plate number, because it appeared he was stopping.

And we have more pressing financial issues currently than the $500 deductible for scratches.

Sigh.

(FTC – Neither Original Hamburger Works, Honda or Walgreens gave us anything!  Tom Ezell’s no longer exists, as far as I know – Tom passed a couple years ago.)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “A Fender Bender?

  1. Assholes like that deserve to be shot at sunrise, WITHOUT a blindfold…

    Posted by Old NFO | March 8, 2017, 9:38 am
  2. What did the police say? You did call right????

    Don’t know the date this was published:
    The law requires you to stop after an accident if anyone was injured or killed or if a vehicle or other property was damaged. You must give reasonable assistance to anyone who was injured in the accident. Failure to stop is a criminal offense, even when the accident occurs on private land and the only result is damage to property.
    http://www.vanosteen.com/accidents/private-property-accidents.asp

    Posted by KM | March 8, 2017, 11:04 am
    • Nope. We didn’t call.
      It occurred at the height of rush hour, and the damage was minimally cosmetic.
      Had it been worse, yes, we would have called.
      When I was a PI, I investigated many ‘hit-and – run accidents, where there were no leads, and cosmetic damage. Generally, the police have more important things to do.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 8, 2017, 11:27 am
      • If the driver was impaired, the police would certainly not have better things to do. If the ‘runner’ had a suspended license and no insurance, I think that would pique their interest also. (I bet $20 Walgreens has it recorded)
        Not being able to see the damage of course, I’m in the dark on where and how much there is, plus I couldn’t pick an Element out of a lineup. 😉

        I got into a crash years ago, (late 80’s?), my fault. I rear ended a small truck with my small truck at very low speed.
        No injuries and the responding cop didn’t think there was enough damage to legally have to call it an “accident”.
        (I was braking when we touched, my bumper got pushed up, hers got pushed down) IIRC, it looked like the other truck bumper just needed to be pushed back up a little.
        My truck that ran and drove fine and had what looked like minor cosmetic damage got an estimate of $3300!
        I’m glad nobody was injured in your incident. Even little crunches can have some unseen nasty things happen, especially as we get older.

        Posted by KM | March 8, 2017, 1:02 pm
      • I appreciate your input.

        And (belatedly) I added a photo.

        Posted by guffaw1952 | March 8, 2017, 1:13 pm
  3. I’m glad nobody was hurt. Srsly, there are days when I could happily just stay in the house (or yard), and watch everyone else speeding off to … well, wherever it is they go in such a hurry.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 8, 2017, 12:52 pm
  4. Glad nobody was hurt. Not surprised about them leaving – that’s the world we live in.

    BUT with more modern cars – like from the last 30ish years – there’s all sorts of stuff tucked out of sight to help absorb impacts. And it deforms even if it doesn’t look like much on the outside. So cosmetic might not actually be cosmetic. You might want to research the impact absorbtion design of that particular model.

    Found this out after being rear ended and looking at the bumper and thinking there wasn’t much damge.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | March 8, 2017, 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

