you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', addiction, annoyance, celebrate, chemical dependency, choices, comfort, diabetes, diet, drugs, life, monumental-waste-of-time, sugar

This Tastes Funny 

I’ve been drinking diet soda (of various varieties) for 37 years. (or so).  Mostly because sugared soda is SO full of sugar. In 2002 I was diagnosed as diabetic, so I had yet another reason.

(And yes, I am aware many of the chemicals, especially the artificial sweeteners, are BAD for me. Please don’t lecture me.) 

I developed a taste for Diet Coke™, which evolved into a taste for Coke Zero™. Equally bad, I’m sure, but surprisingly with less caffeine!

I take five prescription medications regularly, and a couple OTC. For diabetic neuropathy, blood pressure, cholesterol and GERD. And chronic pain.

Considering the chemistry set some folks I know take, I consider myself most fortunate.

My roommate has been taking CO Q10, and suggested that I take it as well. Allegedly good for we ‘older’ folk. Due to one of her chronic conditions, she also takes guaifenesin (Mucinex™), daily.

Due to allergies brought on by the cooler, wetter weather, I, too, have been taking it.

It helps.

I began taking these additional meds about three months ago. About two months ago, something changed.

My beloved Coke Zero™ didn’t taste right!

At first I blamed the manufacturer, then maybe I had a ‘bug’. A good friend suggested my body had had enough of the constant ingestion of chemicals! 😦

Multiple Internet searches regarding formula changes and pill interactions were for naught.

What was I to do? 

I began drinking more filtered water, coffee, juice, and even bought a ‘healthier’ fruit juice based soda, with a different chemical sweetener. And seltzer water – when I could find it (I like seltzer water).

But, I still missed my Coke Zero™. 😕

The weather changed, and dried. And my allergies abated. And my roomie stopped giving me the guaifenesin.

About a week later, someone gave me a Diet Coke™. I thought ‘what the hell’ I can nurse it.

It tasted fine!

I’m spending less money on beverages, but I now know I can have a Coke™ product, if I choose!

BETTER LIVING THROUGH CHEMISTRY!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “This Tastes Funny 

  1. Yep, meds can and DO change one’s taste buds due to the chemical interactions…

    Posted by Old NFO | March 16, 2017, 8:35 am
  2. Old NFO beat me to the punch. I blame Blogger for not updating my blogroll quickly enough.
    Be that as it may, various meds can play havoc with one’s taste buds. It’s annoying, at best.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 16, 2017, 1:06 pm
  3. I figure the Coke Zero we drink (because I’m diabetic) has no caffeine, no sugar … it’s pretty much flavoring & fizz. And, these days, it’s the only vice I have left. 😉

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 16, 2017, 1:14 pm
    • The version I drink has caffeine, and tastes closer to actual Coke (more so than Diet Coke, IMHO)
      Yeah, my vices are my DISH TV addiction and…
      That’s about it! 😎

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 16, 2017, 3:44 pm
    • I have often wished that I was one of those people who loses their appetite when sick. Instead I spend the whole time eating bad stuff in an attempt to taste something.

      No surprise in your liss/regaining taste buds. Stuff affects us in more ways than we yet know.

      Fizz water flavored with juice is helpful. Cuts down on sugar but still gives flavor and a snap on the tongue.

      Posted by ProudHillbilly | March 16, 2017, 8:56 pm
      • Thanks!
        I like it with unfiltered apple juice. Especially in the Summer. Just can’t have it all the time (being diabetic and all).

        Posted by guffaw1952 | March 16, 2017, 10:51 pm
  4. I have often wished that I was one of those people who loses their appetite when sick. Instead I spend the whole time eating bad stuff in an attempt to taste something.

    No surprise in your liss/regaining taste buds. Stuff affects us in more ways than we yet know.

    Fizz water flavored with juice is helpful. Cuts down on sugar but still gives flavor and a snap on the tongue.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | March 16, 2017, 8:45 pm
  5. A&W Diet Root Beer. Enuff said.

    Posted by bobb topp | March 17, 2017, 2:05 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

