you're reading...
action, actors, annoyance, choices, common sense, dangerous, law enforcement interaction, laziness, monumental-waste-of-time, mystical phenomena, paranoia, personal responsibility, pet peeves, safety, tactics, whining

When Did THIS Become The Norm?

I don’t drive much, anymore.  Between having a beater car (when my roomie’s car isn’t available – thanks J.!), the cost of maintenance (which I can’t afford) and gas, and the whack-jobs on the road…

Speaking of whack-jobs! (See above)

I understand you don’t want to climb into the back seat of the car in front of you, both for safety reasons and just general courtesy.

BUT IT SEEMS 6 OUT OF 10 CARS KEEP A DISTANCE AT A STOP LIGHT OF GREATER THAN ONE CAR LENGTH!  SOMETIMES MORE THAN TWO!!

Have so many been rear-ended they are paranoid?

It’s just an annoyance if there are only two cars stopped at an intersection.  But if there are 12 cars in three lanes, and 60% of them are ‘keeping their distance’ of more than a car length, it causes back-ups!  Sometimes back to the previous stop light!

And I’ve NEVER seen anyone getting a citation for being stopped too far back – if there even is such a thing?

Personally, I keep a safe distance, usually enough to see the license plate in front of me.  A reasonable distance.

This phenomena seems to have developed over the past ten years.

What happened to cause this?

Bueller?  Bueller?

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “When Did THIS Become The Norm?

  1. I can’t figure it out, either. It started up here about 5 years ago, give or take. The first car at the light stops 20 or 25 feet back from the crosswalk; it’s crazy & inexplicable. Me? I pull right up to the line, and about half of the Wayback Machines slowly creep up alongside me, as if embarrassed that they forgot … or something.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 31, 2017, 8:09 am
    • I have seen people doing this playing on their i phones ( when they should not be ). Perhaps they remember the last time they got SO distracted they eased up on the brake peddle and rear ended the car in front of them stopped at a traffic light. In fairness, I have also seen VERY senior drivers do this; perhaps in their case, they can no longer tell how close is too close, so “play it safe”. YES I DO feel there is a point , age wise, past which any particular individual should drive. ( I’ll likely get flamed for that. One of the things I respected in my Father in his old age was that he hung up his car keys when he knew he had to ). I have heard tell that in defensive driving classes, it is recommended that you be able to read the license plate of the car ahead of you. This can, of course, be taken to extremes also, as you could position your car JUST far enough back to do so, or you could do the reading from 2 or 3 car lengths back.
      NOT to muddy the water further, when moving, FOLLOWING distance, time wise, is now said to be OKAY at 3 SECONDS ( or more) behind the car ahead of you, as most people cannot judge how many car lengths they are following behind, and checking how far back you are time wise is easier and safer.

      Posted by thinkingman | March 31, 2017, 9:22 am
    • Or something…

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 31, 2017, 2:13 pm
  2. Dunno, I see this in Texas too, then they all creep up to a proper distance while waiting for the light… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | March 31, 2017, 1:12 pm
  3. I do it in the city where I live maybe not that much distance but I like to have a running start at a way out in case things get hairy

    Posted by Don | March 31, 2017, 1:14 pm
  4. Allow me to clear some of this up for you : to ensure the proper distance between you and the car in front of at a stop, you need to be able to see the road behind their rear tires. And the phenomenon that Rev Paul describes probably happens because drivers are now taught to stop at a distance wherein they can see both lines of the crosswalk, once having done so, they are then free to move up to the bold white line that most people recognize as the stop line.

    Posted by Anonymous | March 31, 2017, 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

