you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, blogging, cellular telephones, Chinese, computer, concerns, filthy lucre, First World problems, foolishness, free enterprise, free software, maintenance, monumental-waste-of-time, personal problem, technology

Time Bomb Computer (A First-World Problem Story)

I own an HP Pavilion Touchscreen, with an AMD Athlon™ II X2 235e Processor 2.70 GHz 400 GB of RAM (3.75 GB usable) 64 bit operating system, x-64 based processor.  She has a 20″ flat, touch screen, with a cordless keyboard and mouse.

I purchased her on-line, refurbished (2011?)  And she has served me very well.

Last week, I received a message one of the software protection programs I purchased after-the-fact was in need of annual renewal.

And, frankly, with all that’s going on here (roomie surgery, less income, etc.), I don’t have the funds.  (This is NOT a bleg.)

The next day my computer gave me an error message:  HARD DRIVE FAILURE IMMINENT!  PLEASE BACKUP YOUR FILES (yadda, yadda, yadda).  I went back to using the computer, as I do not regularly back it up, and have no discs with which to back it up, anyway.

Besides, what if it was just some malware file from the software company, or elsewhere?

The computer has continued to function, as usual.

Yesterday, there was a blip in my Wi-Fi service (Cox, who knew?).  I reset the router (which is inconveniently downstairs).  Upon my return, there was the same message I had received a week ago.

I again accessed my computer, and downloaded a free hard drive analysis program.

The program confirmed my hard drive’s demise was imminent indeed!

Now what?

I have no funds or credit, so buying a new (or well-used) computer is out of the question.  Of course, getting it repaired also falls under these criteria.

I CAN check my email and blog from my smartphone or my cheap, Chinese tablet, with some difficulty.

Obviously, not my first choices.

What to do, what to do?

I will continue to blog, daily, changing the quote, cartoon, beauty and YouTube posting as I can.  Who knows – maybe she won’t fail until I somehow find a way to get another PC?  🙂

(I know, I’m an optimist!)

(FTC – HP, Athlon, and Cox have given me nothing, save years of good service (Cox, less so.).  I paid for the computer, and pay for Wi-Fi.)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Time Bomb Computer (A First-World Problem Story)

  1. I don’t know how reliable those reports are. They might be very accurate – or, in my experience – a blurb to get me to buy their “recommended” (read sponsored) product. I wonder how much a used external USB drive costs (assuming there is such a used item available)?

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 1, 2017, 8:28 am
    • Thanks for your input! There has been no brand name attached to the warning (?)
      I suppose I can research that.
      I do have one with some ‘stuff’ on it.
      Maybe I should wipe it and reuse it?

      Posted by guffaw1952 | April 1, 2017, 8:51 am
      • If the one you have has enough capacity to back up your drive, then by all means use it. I know that new, 2TB external drives sell for about $120 up here, but the one you have is better than the one at the store. ;^)

        Posted by Rev. Paul | April 1, 2017, 8:53 am
      • I’m uneducated enough to know I bought it right after I got the computer, and may not have configured it correctly. So I don’t really know what’s on it.
        But, as you suggest, one in the hand…
        I think it cost me $80 six years ago – when I had money… Seagate (?)
        All I can do is try…

        Posted by guffaw1952 | April 1, 2017, 8:58 am
  2. I’m in process of building a new server for our office. Depending on your sense of humor level, I could bleach the old server and put a fresh copy of Linux of the old one for you. If all you need is Thunderbired / Firefox / Libreoffice / ChromeBrowser type stuff you’d be golden. I’ll need to talk to the boss though…

    Posted by Jon | April 1, 2017, 2:43 pm
    • You are most kind!
      I’m pretty uneducated about such things.
      I am currently using Firefox and Windows 10.
      Not really familiar with Linux.
      Please advise what your boss has to say.
      And thanks for thinking of me

      Posted by guffaw1952 | April 1, 2017, 3:16 pm
  3. go to a command window – quotes are to differentiate information and not needed – Windows 10, type “cmd” in the search window (lower left) right click on the “Command Prompt” and choose “run as administrator”. In the command window that comes up type in “chkdsk” and then hit enter. If there are disk errors you will see them. “chkdsk /f” will try to fix them – but could lose data. Hope that helps.

    Posted by wew | April 1, 2017, 3:57 pm
    • Thanks!
      I will give that a try!

      Posted by guffaw1952 | April 1, 2017, 4:03 pm
      • Just had a thought, if all you need is a hard drive, I’ve got spares. I also would not need to rush finishing the server. You’d still need to find someone to clone your old drive to the new one, it’s been over 10 years since I’ve done that.

        Posted by Jon | April 2, 2017, 8:45 am
      • Thanks again!
        It’s a good thought…
        I’ve no idea how to do that, but I will put out feelers.
        (Hey! Did you have my name first? 🙂 )

        Posted by guffaw1952 | April 2, 2017, 8:59 am
      • azrider.com is a vanity domain, @azrider.com will get to me. The just helps me track where stuff is coming from

        Posted by Jon | April 2, 2017, 9:39 am
    • ok… so ‘brackets’ don’t display…

      azrider.com is a vanity domain, ‘anything’@azrider.com will get to me. The ‘anything’ just helps me track where stuff is coming from

      Posted by Jon | April 2, 2017, 9:41 am
  4. As an IT pro, I have seen very similar messages which are a scam, as someone here said earlier.

    Posted by Anonymous | April 2, 2017, 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

