you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, burglars, concerns, crime, expectations, law enforcement interaction, monumental-waste-of-time, pistols, vigilance

Auto Burglary 

(NOT an Auto and Burglar gun, after which I still lust!)

Since re-locating with my ex-girlfriend over five years ago (I can’t believe it’s been that long!), very little of a criminal nature has occurred here. (compared to my previous neighborhood.)

The old neighborhood was rife with graffiti and gang stuff. I had THREE burglaries in eighteen years, the last in which my 800 pound Ft. Knox vault and it’s contents (personal stuff and 53 firearms) were taken!

When I moved to ‘the suburbs’, my automobile insurance company even refunded me $18.

However, no place is crime free. 

I returned home Saturday last, when my ‘new’ neighbor (of six months) to the North was outside examining his car. It seems his car had been broken into, and his registration, insurance papers and an inexpensive 380 ACP handgun were stolen.

So much for the $18 safer neighborhood! 
 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Auto Burglary 

  1. No place is totally safe, but you knew that. There will always be targets of opportunity, and always be those willing to prey on others. The neighborhood on the south side of Anchorage where we used to live was known for its relative calm & safety – until 2 or 3 years ago, when the criminals moved south. Fresh meat for the predators, so to speak. But some targets are more appealing than others, even then. In our town, a lady was crying because her car had been ransacked. “I only left it unlocked for an hour,” she said … and we perceived the pattern.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 6, 2017, 8:08 am
  2. Agree with Rev… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | April 6, 2017, 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

