you're reading...
Uncategorized

Don Rickles R.I.P.

I liked Don Rickles.  Maybe it’s because he said things I could never say.  Don always said he was descendant of Jack E. Leonard.  I believe him.

He was best friends with Bob Newhart.  In fact Don and his wife would often vacation with Bob and his.  He was also a close friend with Don Adams.

Can you imagine these three comedy giants in the same room together?  My gut hurts just thinking about it.

When Rickles first appeared, I remember my Father took a dislike to him.  Apparently, early on, he would actually slap people when insulting them.  My Dad thought this unnecessary and disrespectful.  Obviously, he soon removed these assaults from his act.

I remember seeing outtakes of he and Don Adams (probably from a Get Smart episode) wherein they are both chained by their wrists to a wall.  They look at each other and keep busting up, uncontrollably!  Must have taken 20 takes.

His son Larry pre-deceased him.  I know something about those feelings.

(from the L.A. Times obit) In lieu of flowers, it is suggested that donations be made to the Larry Rickles Endowment Fund at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles.

As with so many ‘mean’ folks on camera, he was obviously a gentle soul in Life.

He was 90.

R.I.P. Hockey Puck!

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Don Rickles R.I.P.

  1. He was, by all accounts, a gentle & loving man – and generous, too. His brand of humor was more abrasive, earlier in his life, and I didn’t care for it. But later on, it became a bit more generalized. And the fact that he could make everyone around him crack up & lose it was a plus. And it didn’t hurt that CPO Sharkey was in full swing when I got out of the Navy; that show, and M*A*S*H, were the most accurate depiction of military life I’d seen. Apart from the real thing, that is.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 7, 2017, 8:38 am
    • I remember when he played a Catholic prelate I ‘the Unit’, and, of course, Sharkey.
      Johnny Carson broke onto the set during filming, because Rickles had broken his cigarette box! He was tongue tied. ❤️

      Posted by guffaw1952 | April 7, 2017, 10:03 am
  2. He will be missed…

    Posted by Old NFO | April 7, 2017, 2:36 pm
  3. Oddly, I was just watching some of his old stuff and out-takes a few days ago. And was laughing out loud. So few can make me laugh put loud.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | April 7, 2017, 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

