you're reading...
annoyance, basic, being human, bigotry, childhood, family, grief, history, monumental-waste-of-time, other cultures, parenting, politically incorrect, remembering

The Name Game

When I was growing up, most of my friends were named after parents or relatives. A few juniors. Common Anglo Saxon names – Thomas, Susan, George, John.
Names that were from grandparents were thought of as old fashioned. Martha, Edith, etc.  Black people had Anglo names, for the most part.
Other ethnic names were just that. Guadalupe (Lupe), Juan. Not to many other options.  There was one Jesus (Hey-soos’), which the P.E. teacher consistently mispronounced!
We were a predominantly white bread college town.
As I have often said before – the times, they are a changin’…
My nieces are named Rilyn and Karsyn. A good friend’s grand baby is Sagan Universe!
Now Thomas and Susan are the old-fashioned names!

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m all about honoring ethnic and/or family history.  I’m named for my maternal and fraternal grandfather.  German and Irish stock! (Didn’t know Guffaw was Germanic, did you?)  😛

Don’t even get me started on the ethnic names!  My favorite (oft repeated on the Internet) is the woman who named her child La-a.  Then was furious when people couldn’t spell or pronounce it correctly!  People said Luh-uh, Lay, all manner of wrong pronunciations.

Her name was pronounced LAH DASH UH!!

I miss names like Linda and Mike

Guess I’m old.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “The Name Game

  1. The dash don’t be silent!

    Posted by George | April 17, 2017, 9:12 am
  2. In this barely-literate society we’ve created, hardly anyone can spell common words. Add unconventional names to the mix, and instant chaos is the result. No surprise.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 17, 2017, 9:55 am
  3. I wonder if any of these folks with “boutique” names ever said to their parents, “I don’t want to be special, I just want to be normal. Okay?”
    Probably not…that childhood brainwashing can go to the bone.

    Posted by KM | April 18, 2017, 11:08 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

