you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, actors, agenda, annoyance, answers, appearance, character, crime, dangerous, debate, dysfunction, elections, freedom of the press, friends, lessons, monumental-waste-of-time, opinion, politically incorrect

Is THIS That To Which We’ve Come?

I truly hope not!

A dear friend (and regular reader of this humble blog) recently attended a talk presented by the President of the Arizona Republic (newspaper).

The president outlined her personal history, then presented what was countenanced as  ‘the toxic culture that is America today’.

Summarized by my friend, as follows:

She was part of the historic decision of the paper to endorse Hillary Clinton for President, the first Democrat ever endorsed for President in the paper’s 126 year history.  She was only part of that decision.  The board, heavily conservative, many of them Goldwater Republicans, considered their decision very carefully.  They discussed the options, giving no endorsement at all, endorsing a third-party candidate, or Clinton (which they eventually did).
For them, it was never a partisan  choice, they had endorsed John Kasich in the primaries. For them, it was on their consideration of fitness for office.  They knew it was weighty decision.  They knew it would cost them business.  They knew that it would be an unpopular choice for many in a Republican dominated state.  But an endorsement of Trump was never in the cards for them.  Something I didn’t know, but was interesting to learn.
What they were unprepared for, was the volcano of ugliness that followed.  Death threats came in by the hundreds.  Targeted personally toward individuals on the board.  Things like:  We know where you live.  We know where your children go to school.  We know the license plate on your car.  We know where you park.  We are going to do to you what was done to Don Bolles.  You will die.  We will kill your family.  Hundreds of these.  Every day.
Threats came by phone, by mail, in person, via email (of course).  People attempting to sell subscriptions were spat upon, had guns brandished in their faces.  It got so bad that the Republic ceased trying to make in-person subscription sales.
One extreme right-wing Catholic group spammed her email 5000 times a day.
Her response, in part:
I was horrified.  This is America?  This is what we do to people who disagree with us politically?  I’ve had my share of political arguments.  I’ve vented anger, but I never imagined anything like this.
Thankfully, nobody was actually killed, although there were several assaults.
All over an ENDORSEMENT.  A simple statement of opinion.
It is ongoing.  She said that she now “only” gets 2-3 death threats a day.  Although, every time Trump calls the press “enemies of the people” or complains about the press, there is another spike.
One man calls every day, just to say, “I hate you and think you should die.”
This is what we’ve come to.
Well, I’m not going to be a part of it any more.  I will state my opinions, exercise my freedom of speech, but I will never again engage in behavior that dehumanizes or could be perceived as threatening to people who disagree with me.
Civil discourse begins with me.  I hope it doesn’t end there.
I’m interested in this blog’s readership response, if any.  Of course, any non-civil discourse or threats will be dealt with as appropriate.
I’ve my own opinions on the matter, which I may present at a later date.
Anyone?

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Is THIS That To Which We’ve Come?

  1. That’s almost unbelievable. To wit: I have trouble believing that conservatives would respond that way, completely out of the character which is displayed nearly everywhere else. However, I will take the word of you and your friend, and accept there’s a dark side to which I’ve not been exposed. On the other hand, when I read of any organization being described as “right-wing”, I tend to assume the referral is from someone on the left. Conservatives don’t refer to themselves that way.

    It’s puzzling, and quite troubling. I haven’t threatened anyone with death since leaving the Navy – and that was only those who opposed the U.S. at the point of a gun, in those Cold War days.

    Troubling, indeed.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 20, 2017, 8:34 am
  2. Disgusting behavior whatever the political beliefs of anyone. If an in depth study of those doing this might uncover a disinformation campaign, that would be very interesting. Even if only a portion.

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | April 20, 2017, 9:07 am
  3. Kooks abound on both sides. People making death threats should be squashed like a bug by the legal system. It ISN’T okay no matter what side of the fence you’re on.

    I stopped reading the Arizona Repulsive years ago.
    The claim that “The board, heavily conservative, many of them Goldwater Republicans” seems pretty far fetched giving the liberal tripe that their reporters spew daily.

    Posted by KM | April 20, 2017, 12:06 pm
  4. My money is on outright fabrication for propaganda purposes. The left lies. That is what they do.

    Posted by raven | April 20, 2017, 4:26 pm
  5. Construction workers vs. hippies. But I don’t recall the quantity of >death< threats as we have today – mostly from the tolerant left … but I'm sure crazies are on both sides.

    The South won many of the early battles; UC-Berkeley may turn out to be Ft Sumter.
    The left will win regardless or in spite of Trump … unless something major and very ugly happens.
    The left concentrates on politics; the "right" concentrates on living their lives.

    At least the music was better in the 60s.

    Q

    Posted by Quizikle | April 20, 2017, 5:26 pm
  6. this is really shocking and unacceptable…hard to believe that they respond in such an different and negative way

    Posted by alberttrotter | April 25, 2017, 8:33 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

