you're reading...
annoyance, being human, capitalism, choices, credit, crime, dumb luck, enthusiasm, guns, life, loss, lust, monumental-waste-of-time, personal responsibility, pistols

From The ‘Just When You Thought It Was Safe’ Dept.

In the past eight years, I went from a low-to-middle income ‘career’, to short-term disability and illness, to long term disability and remission.

Thus far.

While I am most grateful for having survived(!), with long term disability has come a lower income, and the loss of my job and home.  I tried to recover in the short term, and ended up maxing out my credit cards coupled with the inability to pay for them.  And the medical bills that followed.

Along the way my firearms collection was stolen.  Just to add to the ‘fun’.

Through the kindness of friends, I’ve been able to increase my firearms acquisitions to a small collection* (my surviving .38 snubbie and 1911, a Ruger .357 revolver and a compact Sig-Sauer .45!  And, of course, a spring-operated pellet pistol and single-shot gas one!!)

My cup runneth over.

Not the over 50 firearms I once owned, but, it’s a great beginning.  (I know, poor me.)  😛

So, what do I get in the email the other day?

Your Dream Gun Within Reach

One Gun One Gunsmith combined with oversized hand fit parts makes Nighthawk Custom pistols more expensive than assembly line guns. We know many of you dream of owning one “someday”, well someday is now today. With just 10% down and payments as low as $94 a month we have been able to make owning a work of American Craftsmanship attainable without having to cut corners.

The best part is, even if I had the down payment (which I don’t) with my trashed credit, there’s no way they would approve my application!

Of course, this doesn’t mean you can’t apply…

 

*We say collection.  Arsenal has developed a negative connotation.

 

(FTC – Nighthawk gave me nothing.  Apply for your own pistol!  My roomie has one she bought years ago.  It’s delightful!)

 

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “From The ‘Just When You Thought It Was Safe’ Dept.

  1. Less than 30 days after closing on our house last year, I started getting letters offering to refinance my VA loan (“Lower your interest rate – save money now!”). That was before our first mortgage payment was due. I still get at least one per week, and usually more. Along with that, the four of us receive a dozen credit card applications weekly.

    Mass mailings are scattershot, by definition. The marketers can only hope that somebodies in that anonymous crowd will fill out an application. Still, it can be frustration squared when one is not in a position to take advantage of a desirable offer. I remember that from my broke-and-dirt-poor days.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 24, 2017, 8:10 am
  2. Overpriced… Just sayin…

    Posted by Old NFO | April 24, 2017, 5:48 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

