you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, disease, doctors, dumb luck, medicine

Don’t Do Anything Rash!

I’m a generally ‘healthy’ guy.  Considering I survived premature birth, numerous childhood diseases, my leg disability, a serious car accident, diabetes, skin cancer and lymphoma!

When I get sick, it’s rare.  And it’s NEVER a slight cold…

Thursday last, I developed some edema in my right (disabled) leg.  A fairly common occurrence for me – usually laying down (like sleeping) and it goes away.

Only this time, it didn’t.

And it was followed on Friday by a rash around my right ankle!  This rash grew, and now, in varying degrees, covers my entire body! (except my head)

Accompanied by the requisite itching and burning as one expects with rashes.

No fever, no blistering, just discoloration and itch.

(NO, it’s not shingles. – I DID have chicken pox – TWICE!)

The earliest I can get in to see my primary physician is tomorrow (Wednesday) @ 1500.  (ERs and urgent care facilities are not an option – they cost money!)

Baby powder with aloe, and calamine lotion are my friends!  Sadly, all Benadryl seems to do is knock me out.

The ‘doctor of the Internet’ (always a dangerous place to go) runs the gamut from you have a rash to you are going to die!

My semi-educated guess is I was taking ibuprofen for my arthritis (more than the standard dose), and reached the limit.

Hopefully, my doc will make a correct diagnosis and provide a remedy.  🙂

I will advise, as I know more.

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Don’t Do Anything Rash!

  1. I am sorry to hear of the affliction & discomfort (a nice, generic term for miserable). Prayer in progress, sir.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 25, 2017, 7:59 am
  2. I wish I had read this earlier. The wife is a nurse but she just left for work.
    Being a retired paramedic I know how to cut people out of car wrecks, work heart attacks, etc., etc., and a BUNCH of other neat skills but stuff that isn’t immediate risk isn’t in my wheelhouse.

    Hope it’s an easy fix, sorry to hear you’re feeling like a USAMRIID experiment!

    Posted by KM | April 25, 2017, 10:42 am
    • Forgot to add – the ibuprophen angle doesn’t add up to me unless you’ve beaten your kidneys into submission. The old days, when it was a prescription, the dose was 3 – 800mg tablets a day. You would have to be taking over a dozen a day but like I said, not really my wheelhouse.

      Posted by KM | April 25, 2017, 10:50 am
  3. Ouch, I hope you get it fixed, and quickly!!!

    Posted by Old NFO | April 25, 2017, 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

