you're reading...
'R' rated, actors, annoyance, being human, choices, entertainment, expectations, Hollywood, life, lust, memories, mistakes, monumental-waste-of-time, movies, not me, not-so-funny, personal problem, romance, sex crimes, unrequited lust, violence, whining

Memorable Movie Mistakes

I’ve not been ‘on a date’ in some time.  It’s simply a matter of logistics – I’ve no extraneous funds and my car is a beater with no air conditioning.

The fact that I don’t travel is any circles with available women has nothing to do with it!

😛

I was thinking this morning about a few of my more memorable dates in the distant past.  Some with fondness; some not-so-much.

I used to like to attend the cinema.  There were many first-run films each week, lots of theaters from which to choose, and who doesn’t like sitting in the dark with a young woman? (this was in my 20’s – before I had been married, and subsequently divorced).

Now, of course, there are fewer movies and movie houses.  And one may sit at home in one’s skivvies and watch videos until the cows come home, with beer, pizza, and (if one is so lucky) company.

AND, one may pause to go to the bathroom!

Times have changed.

ANYWAY, I remembered a couple of dates.  One was a later Hitchcock film.  I did (and DO love Alfred Hitchcock).  My date said she did as well.  Were post-date antics in the offing?

Sadly NO.  The film was Frenzy.  A film of a serial killer rapist, made in London.  I think it was the first time Hitch actually exposed breasts on film.  Following a violent rape and strangulation.  Hardly something to arouse a normal young woman to later romance.

Sigh.

Another time, a former girlfriend returned to town and looked me up.  We went out a few times, and I had hope of rekindling the romance.  But, it was not to be…

She had mentioned she liked Burt Reynolds.  There was a new film out with him in it.  I thought “Hey!  Maybe this will get things going again?”

Hardly.  The film was Deliverance.  You remember – dueling banjos, homosexual rape?

I just couldn’t get a break!

(as an aside, the consummate actor Ned Beatty was the rape victim here.  I’ve wondered about the audition…“Hey, pages 18 and 19 are missing?  Don’t worry about it, Ned.)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Memorable Movie Mistakes

  1. I recall a date where we saw “Play Misty For Me” (1971).
    I gave her a gentle poke in the ribs at THE scene.
    So much for that relationship.

    Q

    Posted by Quizikle | May 11, 2017, 4:39 pm
  2. I disappointed one date at a drive-in in ’75. We went to see One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.
    She wanted to get frisky and I kept saying, “hold on a sec”, because that movie was really, really good and I paid for both of us to see it.
    We could get frisky after the movie as far as I was concerned. 🙂

    Posted by KM | May 11, 2017, 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

