you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', being human, Blog Mothers, bloggers, bosses, Brigid, cancer, doom, friends-in-need, gratitude, honor, Marines, military, sacrifice

Perspective

If you’ve not noticed, I’ve been doing a lot of whining recently.  (And how could you NOT?)

Health issues, money issues, issues with insurance, maintenance and repair of the residence, yatta, yatta, yatta…

Sometimes it’s all on which I focus.

I’m human.

But, recent events have come to pass involving others, which puts things in perspective.

My friend and former boss, John, with whom I recently re-connected on FB, has had it rough.  When I knew him back in college, he had it ‘all’.  Former Marine, married to a beautiful woman, a nice house.  I had none of these things.  During the subsequent years, he lost his marriage, his home, his livelihood.

Sometime in the interim, he rejoined the Service, the second time the Navy!

After his discharge he lived on the streets for eleven years!

He is now on VA-related disability, and helps homeless vets with his own funds when he is able (!)

Sadly, he is battling a slow leukemia.  And just found out that his heart is failing, AND, he has lung cancer!!!

In another part of the Republic, Brigid’s father may be on his way out.  He is a WWII AAC veteran, and still lives in Brigid’s childhood home.  He recently contracted pneumonia, often deadly for older folks.  His next birthday he will be 97.  If he makes it.

Here are two fine men.  They have served their country.  Raised decent and proper children.  One of whom is a dear friend.

And here I am whining.

I am currently in an undisclosed location (paid for by J’s homeowner’s insurance).  A hotel, enabling us to get a hot shower and stay out of the repair zone while the insurance adjuster, contractors, plumbers, et al  fight it out for repair of the one bath in the house with a shower.  Because of a ceiling leak.

I worry about the minutiae.  Having to use part of the deductible funds to ‘secure the room’, for example.

But, while I am ill, it doesn’t appear lethal.

Perspective, I’m tellin’ ya!

Be grateful for that which you have.

I’m still learning this lesson…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. “Whining”???
    Boones Farm? Thunderbird?? MadDog???
    Curious readers wish to know.
    🙂

    Q

    Posted by Quizikle | May 13, 2017, 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

