you're reading...
actors, death, memories, movies, TV

Roger Moore, RIP

Nope.  Not another character actor.

Well, maybe…

But, one from my youth.

I first knew him from Ivanhoe (TV) and Maverick (TV) followed by The Saint TV series.  Suave, but offbeat.  Drove a car similar in outward appearance to the Bond car (a Volvo, hardly an Aston Martin!), but I was a kid – what did I know?

Had clever lines, foiled the bad guys – who could want for more?

Eventually, he replaced Connery, Lazenby as Bond.  I’d read all the books by then, and, while I enjoyed Live And Let Die, it was NOT Connery nor Lazenby, and had a campy, Batmanesque manner to it.

Not the James Bond I had grown to love.

I ended up watching two or three more of the Moore Bond films (of the eventual seven) and gave up.

I did enjoy The Persuaders, a British TV romp opposite Tony Curtis.  But, it only lasted two years.

And there were non-Bond films, like Shout at the Devil (1976), The Wild Geese (1978) and North Sea Hijack (1979), among others.

But, I never forgave him for his the comic book portrayal of Bond.

He did take a conservative anti-Bond stance in an interview I once saw.  He was a conservative, religious man, and suggested Bond was not a very moral man.  Certainly not one he would like dating his daughter!  He was probably correct in this assessment.

And he made it to 89.  And was knighted.

You will be missed.

Just not as James Bond (by me, anyway).

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Roger Moore, RIP

  1. I have a certain fondness for Roger Moore’s Bond, simply because the summer I was 15 “Octopussy” was on TV nearly every day. (I was serving as an au pair in my uncle’s house, and they had *gasp* CABLE TV!!!) I ended up watching at least part of that movie nearly every day. Gimme a break! I was 15! I honestly don’t remember the plot (was there a plot?), but I was fascinated by the glamour of it all, particularly the femme fatale villain. RIP Sir Roger!

    Posted by tomiarthistorian | May 23, 2017, 8:02 am
  2. An actor can only turn in the performance which the producer(s)/director will allow him to do. I read an interview with “Pirates of the Caribbean” director & others who said that Johnny Depp’s portrayal of Jack Sparrow had them all running in circles (“What’s he doing? Is he drunk? Should we stop him?”), and they very nearly made him play it straight.

    That said, campy was in style in the ’70s, and Moore gave them the performance they wanted. Not his fault, I think, that it doesn’t age well. He, however, did – and proved time & again that he could be a brilliant if understated actor.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 23, 2017, 8:04 am
  3. I’d rather watch seven Bond films with Moore than suffer through one Daniel Craig mess

    Posted by Murphy's Law | May 23, 2017, 4:38 pm
  4. He was much better as the Saint… Just sayin…

    Posted by Old NFO | May 23, 2017, 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

