you're reading...
Dave, entertainment, equipment, foolishness, friends, history, humor, monumental-waste-of-time, yutes

Eons Ago, In a Gun Store…

More specifically, Don’s Sport Shop, in Scottsdale…

Dave the mechanic and I were ‘window shopping’ (both being young and relatively poor, there was no way either of us could afford to purchase a firearm).

And we were checking out all the related gear, as well (hunting, fishing, camping), just because.

And there is was, a Jimmy Stewart Game Caller!

We spent subsequent hours (days, weeks, years) sharing with each other our impressions of Jimmy calling in game:

“A quack!, a quack! here duck, here duck!”

(Sadly, neither one of us could do even a passable imitation of Mr. Stewart – not that it mattered.)   😛

We re-visited Don’s two or three times a year, for many following years, always recharging our memories and chuckles regarding Jimmy’s Game Caller.

During one subsequent visit, we spotted it again on the shelf, and determined that the product was actually named the JOHNNY Stewart game caller!  As it had been printed in a script font – and we were young and not paying much attention, anyway – we hadn’t noticed the difference!

This failed to stop us from continuing our poor imitations of Jimmy for a number of years.

Boys just gotta have fun!

(FTC – neither Don’s, nor Jimmy Stewart (sorry Johnny Stewart!) gave us anything.  Go away.  I remember buying ammunition in later years, but I drove by the other day and it was named Don’s something else.  And Don’s Sport Shop doesn’t have a site on Google!  Tempus Fugit.)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Eons Ago, In a Gun Store…

  1. Many misunderstandings have led to many running jokes. Unfortunately or otherwise, you and I are old enough to remember when the jokes were more-or-less innocent, rather than the perpetuation of a lie (can you see Russia from your house? no? neither could Sarah Palin, who’s still being insulted with that Tina Fey line).

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 28, 2017, 10:18 am
  2. Isn’t Don’s Sport shop the one with some of the stuff, like the gunsmith, in the basement? I remember seeing the high end, beautiful and PRICEY shotguns in there and being shocked that there were people who could afford those.
    (I’m not shocked any more…I have an O/U shotgun that I thought I would never be able to afford)

    I found this digging around – – Gun Shop for Sale –
    Don Brooks founded Don’s Sport Shop in 1964 in Scottsdale, Arizona. He built the business in to one of the premier firearm and hunting and fishing stores in Arizona that even included a gun smith shop.

    Upon his retirement in 2000 the business was sold. Don’s Sport Shop had been operated continuously from the same location since its’ founding in 1964 until recently when it was closed for personal reasons by the current owner.
    The approximately 4000 square foot facility is now for sale.

    The comments to the article were dated Feb of 2014.

    Posted by KM | May 28, 2017, 1:23 pm
    • Yes!
      And thanks for the research.
      The sign now says Don’s (something else) which is why I questioned (also, not on Google – perhaps they aren’t computer literate?)
      I found an S&W Highway Patrolman there, in 1975, for $125.00.
      I couldn’t afford it, but that was the price!
      Obviously, times have changed…

      Posted by guffaw1952 | May 28, 2017, 5:10 pm
      • I sold my first Mod 28 that I bought about the same timeframe.

        {{jjm,lk;l.,nmvc nbvx nbvx bgjb nkjl,k;;l,k.kb,mv ,jknj}}
        And that’s my head banging the keyboard everytime I think about it!

        Posted by KM | May 28, 2017, 8:24 pm
      • I feel ya, Bruh.
        I eventually had a 4″ 28, and a 5″ pre-27.
        Both gone in the vault burglary!

        Posted by guffaw1952 | May 28, 2017, 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

