you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', actors, being human, death, disease, Hollywood, kind thoughts, movies, remembering, TV

Adam West RIP

I was never a fan of Batman, the television series.  Correction, I didn’t understand camp.

(You must understand, I was in junior high, preparing to graduate to high school, and thought myself a serious intellectual.  😛 )

I did remember Adam West from a previous episode of Robert Taylor’s The Detectives, though.  I liked him in that role.

Most persons who become type cast eventually fade away, unless they have amazing talent and staying power.  George Reeves killed himself (or was murdered).  And Baby Boomers will always associate him with the Superman TV series.

Mr. West worked long before he was Batman, and long afterward.  Sometimes as cartoon voice-overs, but not always.  He didn’t just do car shows with the Batmobile.  He embraced the Batman mythos, and made it his.

And, not unlike Patrick Stewart (in American Dad), he made his famous voice even more famous in ‘adult’ cartoons, like Family Guy. (as the Mayor of Quahog).

He passed after a short bout with leukemia.  Having had a blood disease, myself, this definitely got my attention.

He will be missed.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Adam West RIP

  1. He definitely had his moments, during a long career. It’s not his fault that, for the Batman TV show, there was such a fine line between camp & silly. But ’tis a fact that I still enjoy the occasional rerun of that old show, even now, precisely because it recalls the comic books of the era (of which I was a fan).

    Posted by Rev. Paul | June 11, 2017, 8:29 am
  2. Sadly that pretty much ‘branded’ him for the rest of his career. It took him a long time to accept that.

    Posted by Old NFO | June 11, 2017, 11:58 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

