you're reading...
actors, celebrate, death, film, genius, good wishes, history, Hollywood, loss, memories, movies, sad

George Romero & Martin Landau RIP 

It’s sad when a purveyor of a childhood memory is taken.

Sadder still when two are.

I’ve never been a big horror movie fan, falling for the less obvious thriller genre. But I recognize talent when I see it.

1968’s Night of the Living Dead began resurgence of horror films, many of whom were directed yet again by Mr. Romero.

The man had talent and style.

Martin Landau was a character acting fixture in my childhood, even when I didn’t know him by name. 

The Untouchables, Bonanza, The Twilight Zone, I Spy, Mission Impossible (on television) and North By Northwest and Ed Wood (in the movies).

And many other works…

I was never a Space 1999 fan, though…

He could play both charming and lethal.

I shall miss him

RIP Gentlemen 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “George Romero & Martin Landau RIP 

  1. Both very talented gentleman, and from what I’ve read nice guys too. Mr. Romero made some great movies despite not working within the Hollywood system. Mr. Landau was an excellent actor; a favorite is his portrayal of Bela Lugosi in “Ed Wood.” I also highly recommend him from the 2015 thriller “Remember.”

    Posted by Wilson | July 17, 2017, 7:35 am
  2. I loved Ed Wood, and his portrayal of Lugosi! I’ve not seen Remember – I shall look for it, thanks.
    As always, great to see you…

    Posted by guffaw1952 | July 17, 2017, 8:25 am
  3. I liked Mr. Landau in pretty much anything he was in. Had mixed emotions about Space 1999, though. It was like a tough steak: just good enough to make me wish it was better.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 17, 2017, 9:47 am
  4. 2017 is NOT being good to Hollywood…

    Posted by Old NFO | July 17, 2017, 4:00 pm
  5. George Romero started ( in earnest ) the whole zombie genre, though I have never taken time to see Dawn of the Dead from start to finish- something else always got in the way. My favorite Martin Landau role was in the Woody Allen film, “Crimes and Misdemeanors” as a guilt ridden Ophthalmologist ( with a VERY advanced practice ) , who has his mistress ( Olympia Dukakis ) killed via his criminally inclined brother’s connections, and is amazed when he is not caused to suffer even Divine punishment. I have a well used copy on DVD.

    Posted by thinkingman | July 17, 2017, 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

