you're reading...
choices, family, food, goodness, history, life, Molly, personal responsibility

The Bagel Company 

As recounted here a number of times, before I became a credit card fraud investigator (for almost 22 years) I worked in a number of jobs.

FORTY, to be more precise!

One of those many jobs was a commercial bagel bakery.  I needed work; they were there.

Not to far from my house.

Who knew they had bagels in Arizona?!

So, I was hired.  Again, second shift.

Most of the rank and file were Latino, with a few American Indians mixed in. We all got along, although I’m pretty certain before they were employed, most of the ethnic types had no idea what a bagel was.   😛

I worked there a few months. The bad news was I came home after midnight, often smelling of yeast and onion.

The good news was whenever there were overruns, the workers could take home free bagels.

Dozens of them! 

Our freezer was often overloaded.

It was hot,  busy work. And I thought I had a future there.

But, it was not to be.

The (then) wife took a job which required some overnight travel. This meant someone had to be available during the day for Molly.   For day care and school.

And I had to change jobs for something with a day shift.

John’s Uniforms it was!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Bagel Company 

  1. I feel your pain, Bro. There were some bad years. 1979 was particularly awful; Carter’s economy was in full down-swing. Every time I got a new position, the employer would either lay off most of the workforce, or go out of business, a couple weeks later. I held 13 jobs that year alone.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 19, 2017, 8:29 am
  2. Sad story, but you did the right thing…

    Posted by Old NFO | July 19, 2017, 11:34 am
  3. John’s Uniforms!
    Where I bought my first Fire Dept shirts to start the academy in ’78. 🙂

    Posted by KM | July 20, 2017, 2:02 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

