you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, auto repair, celebrate, choices, customer service, Dave, monumental-waste-of-time, technology, whining less

Low Batts! 

I’ve been sharing my roommate’s 2006 Honda Element, since two months ago my 2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue was officially declared dead (or at least unsafe to drive).

I have decided to donate the Olds to an appropriate charity.

BUT, there are always ‘issues’ with cars.

A couple of weeks ago, the trusty Element started balking when the key was turned.

And we REALLY need at least ONE car that functions…

So, I took it upon myself to solve the problem. Having few auto mechanic skills did not bode well for me (this is where Dave the mechanic laughs).  I envisioned buying a discount battery and having difficulty with the installation – what with a fused hip, arthritis, chronic pain and all.

And low funds were also an issue (my roomie not having yet returned to work after her surgery).

At length, I did my due diligence and discovered my choices were from around $50 for a refurbished battery (with a warranty months in length) to over $200 from the dealer.

I settled for around $150.  THEY do the installation of the new battery – with a FIVE YEAR replacement warranty.  Done @ mechanic shop I trust.

Five years is phenomenal in the Valley of the Sun, where two or three is the usual rule!  The aforementioned Sun kills auto batteries here.

Now, I can go get groceries.  Albeit significantly fewer than I originally planned.

It’s always something…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Low Batts! 

  1. Smart choice. Better to fix it now than have to pay somebody to come out, which would have been a LOT more!

    Posted by Old NFO | July 21, 2017, 6:17 pm
  2. My wifes battery just crapped the bed 2 months ago. Mine (bought at the same time) is going on 4 yrs.
    Toss up between carrying the jumper cables or going and getting a new one…..I better get to the store pretty soon.

    Posted by KM | July 22, 2017, 2:07 am
  3. It ain’t easy to keep an older vehicle on the road, and it sure as heck ain’t cheap. Glad you were able to find an acceptable compromise.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 22, 2017, 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

