you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, agenda, annoyance, blogging, choices, comedy, computers, customer service, errors-in-judgement, First World problems, foolishness, free software, lessons, monumental-waste-of-time, tactics, technology, Time

Rule 27

When Windows 10 has an update, if you are on a schedule, DON’T DO IT!” ๐Ÿ˜ 

I was doing my morning routine, getting the PC ready for the next exciting installment of Guffaw in AZ, when a message appeared from Windows, offering me an update, or a post-ponement of said update.

It was early, I figured, “what the Hell…” ย 

TWENTY MINUTES LATER it reads ‘Working on updates 17%, Don’ the turn off your PC. ย This will take a while.ย 

With the added joy of ‘Your PC will restart several times’ at the bottom of the screen!

GRRR

(But wait, there’s MORE!)

after about an hour…

FINALLY, it finished about an hour and a quarter after it began.ย  It would be nice if Windows warned you in advance of the time sink involved in a requested procedure!

Of course, I have additional commitments, so the planned blog post will have to wait…

Sigh…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Rule 27

  1. “It’s a new era: the paperless office!” “Computers will make our lives easier!” “Microsoft today promised it will reduce the size of Windows 10 “feature updates,” beginning next year.”

    Arrgh!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 23, 2017, 8:44 am
  2. Agree with Rev… Sigh… One reason I’m STILL on 7 Pro. when they stop supporting it, I’m going to a Mac and be done with windoze…

    Posted by Old NFO | July 23, 2017, 9:32 am
  3. Win7 (now) to Linux Mint (when I can’t maintain Win7 any longer).
    Win10 – Just Say No! Why do I suspect the next version to not be any better?
    I’ve shut off all MS updates (and back-up like crazy) … with no ill effects to date.

    I’ve given serious thought to firing up one of the old Win 3.1/NT boxes for some of the mundane office tasks – XP if I really need 64-bit. Really, are any of the new versions of Word any better than the old (ancient) ones?

    Most software seems to be going towards “subscription-based” or “The Cloud”. The “cloud” reminds me of the days of Halogen-protected VAX cores … or worse, turning in a box of punch cards to that mysterious person behind the counter expecting results the next day. But I think the security was better then …

    Q

    Posted by Quizikle | July 23, 2017, 7:52 pm
    • Wow. I uncorked your inner geek, I see…
      Thanks for your commentary and insight!

      I long for the day one may turn on the PC, and it boots instantaneously, connects and does one’s bidding
      IN A SECURE MANNER.
      Not unlike turning on a TV.

      Oh, wait…

      Regardless, always good to see you, Q. I was watching Spectre last night, and Q always makes me think fondly in your direction.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | July 24, 2017, 7:24 am
      • And I try so hard to keep rein on my geekiness (not that it’s “inner” – so I’ll not mention my copies of 1960 vacuum tube manuals – obtained new … and that I’m only a very slight bit younger than you ๐Ÿ™‚ )

        I actually hadn’t considered a comparison to Bond’s Q … it was more shorthand/laziness for signing “Quizikle” … but now that you mention it, it does sort of line up with my professional life. But I relate more to Llewelyn’s character than the others. (Brigid may be Secret Squirrel – bless her and her colleagues – but someone else … hopefully ornery and cantankerous … builds their toys.)

        Good health to you Guffaw.

        Posted by Quizikle | July 24, 2017, 5:56 pm
      • Of course, Q (in the books) was spy-speak for the quartermaster.
        Llewellyn’s portrayal did seem to be the best. A bureaucratic geek, if you will.
        Thank you – good health to YOU good sir! ๐Ÿ˜

        Posted by guffaw1952 | July 24, 2017, 10:09 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

