you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, actors, agenda, annoyance, crime, customer service, emotion, Fourth Amendment, gun control

Two Days @ The Hospital…

As previously recounted in these pages, I was recently hospitalized for two separate visits.  The first time for kidney and blood ailments; the second for a further analysis of these ailments, resulting in a diagnosis of lymphoma.

Whoopee.

As it was the same hospital, the intake both times was similar.  Entry through the ER, admittance, followed by a number of uncomfortable days and tests.

During the first day, I was given what I was told was a standard questionnaire.   Questions asked and answered.  Questions like:  Do I wish my Life would end?  Do I sometimes with I’d go to sleep and not wake up?

With the additional:  Did I bring any weapons or drugs into the hospital?  (They do have the standard useless sign prohibiting weapons upon entry.)

As I knew my personal items would be unsecured much of the time, I opted to go unarmed.

During the second admittance, no such questionnaire was offered on day one.

On Day Two, however…

A genial nurse brought the questions to my room.  Do I want to kill myself, yatta, yatta, yatta.  I could answer these in my sleep.

Then came the weapon and drug questions.  No and No.

Then the nurse said, “NOW WE HAVE TO SEARCH YOUR CLOTHES!”

WAIT, WHAT?

I asked her for her warrant.  She said she didn’t have any, just like the airport.  I said exactly.  She, of course, didn’t understand my point.

After a long, angry standoff, she agreed to have me search my own clothes while she observed.  (She obviously had no idea how to do a search.)  I could have had two sidearms and kept them hidden from her!

I told her about my previous questionnaire, and no subsequent search.  She said those folks would get in serious trouble for not searching me.  Apparently, there have been problems with guns (and drugs)!

My search of my own clothes showed nothing.

I oft wondered if she did find weaponry, what was her next move?

And was such a search actionable…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Two Days @ The Hospital…

  1. Do I sometimes with I’d go to sleep and not wake up?
    No of course not…I want to die slowly in a fire, fully awake and screaming in agony. {{eyeroll}}

    A SEARCH?? You gotta be $h!++ing me!!
    I predict their future holds a claim by an opportunistic patient that the person searching took 2 $100 bills that they had in their pocket. What a load of crap…

    Posted by KM | October 5, 2017, 8:02 am
  2. Could you, like, stop this s#*+? I have enough blood family to worry about. I don’t need to be worrying about blog family too.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | October 5, 2017, 12:51 pm
  3. What the hell?

    Posted by Borepatch | October 5, 2017, 2:13 pm
  4. 17 years ago, right around New Years of 2000, my wife and I were out riding our bikes and got hit by pickup truck. I walked out of the ER 3 hours later, but she got the worst of it. Really major surgery where they had to rebuild a vertebra. She’s got a pound of stainless steel in her now.

    Long intro to the story. So after a week in the big hospital, she went to a rehab facility to learn how to live with the aftermath of the surgery (which was going to be over fairly quickly). She was there for three weeks. Some Dood who was obviously staff came in to talk to her on the first or second day. He had exactly the same kinds of questions. Do I wish my Life would end? Do I sometimes wish I’d go to sleep and not wake up? She looked at him and said, “Am I paying for you?” pause for surprised look on his face, then “Who’s paying for you?” She ran him off. Thankfully, they took that as “she’s OK” not “she’s trying to scam us and really wants to off herself”.

    Good luck with the lymphoma treatments. It’s hard to get fun out of that.

    Posted by SiGraybeard | October 6, 2017, 6:38 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

