you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', PI biz, surveillance, tactics

What To Do If You Are Being Followed…

(from the Art of Manliness)

What to Do If You’re Being Followed

 

 

You arrive at your favorite coffee shop in the ‘burbs and notice a guy in a green baseball cap standing behind you. You give him a friendly nod and go back to looking at the menu.

While you’re taking a bite from your Arby’s roast beef sandwich during your lunch break downtown, you notice that same guy in the green ball cap at a table outside. “Huh. Small world. What a coincidence,” you think to yourself.

Work is over, and you roll up to the gym to get your sweat on. While you’re walking to the entrance, you glance over and see Mr. Green Baseball Hat sitting in a car in the parking lot.

You get the sinking feeling that this third spotting isn’t a coincidence and that maybe this guy is following you.

What do you do? (link)

I for one, when working as a private investigator, thought I was being followed only once.  I was fairly close to home. so I lead the possible surveillant away, came to a same place, and called home to make certain my wife and infant daughter were ok, and the home secured.

Once I was assured I was no longer being followed, I took a different route home, scouting for the guy’s car.  I never saw him again, nor the car with the same license.

Of course, if it had been a team, I was toast!

Regardless, the article has some good, basic advice…

Check your six!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “What To Do If You Are Being Followed…

  1. That’s harder to do in big cities/big crowds. But good advice, just the same. “Condition Opaque” is no way to go thru life.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | October 7, 2017, 10:12 am
  2. A couple times I’ve noticed that the same car has been behind me for several miles and several turns. Made a right instead of a left once I got to a certain place and headed away from the house until they turned off and I felt sure they were gone. There’s no real reason for anybody to follow me except maybe someone thinking older female=victim, but I figure better to be safe than lead someone unsavory right to my house.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | October 7, 2017, 6:51 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

