you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', addiction, annoyance, burglars, Col. Cooper, crime, enthusiasm, guns, monumental-waste-of-time

The Rifle That Got Away

aka, the rifle who never was(?)

My friend Murphy’s Law recently acquired a piece-of-ordinance that sparked a memory for me.

The Fabrique Nationale de Herstal Fusil Automatique Léger, aka FN FAL

(or sometimes colloquially pronounced fin’fall)

Regular, long-time readers know I got into riflery late in my gun ‘career’.  My focus had largely been police and self defense oriented arms, until Bill Clinton’s assault weapon ban came to be. (#$&%^(@!)

Then, as the almighty government told me I was not allowed to have a particular sub-set of firearms, I had to have one.  Or two.  Or more!

Friends gifted me with a semi AK copy.  Eventually, I acquired three more, in AR configuration (and one parts AR carbine in 9mm, which was never completed.)  And magazines, ammunition, cleaning tools, slings and other acoutrement.

Followed by a domestically-assembled H&K 91 clone.  And an M1 Garand.

Yeah, I’m a completionist!

But, I never did acquire an FN.  Heard stories from shooting buddies who had, and the guy who owned Royal Bookstore (a Belgian emigre’ who became an American citizen and fought in Vietnam.)  And read about them in Cooper’s Gunsite Gossip.

Of course, you know the end to the story.  Burglary,  800 pound safe stolen – with all her contents.

So the FN would have been gone, regardless.

😦

fn

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “The Rifle That Got Away

  1. FALs are nice if you’re eyes are “young” enough and irons are still seen as clean sights. Their optic options run from none to fugly.
    They are fun to shoot though, great modern history lineage. Sadly I never owned one either.
    Luckily I have friends that will gladly bring theirs along for me to play with. 🙂

    Posted by KM | July 25, 2016, 8:36 am
  2. I’ve shot them, but never owned one…

    Posted by Old NFO | July 25, 2016, 11:14 am
  3. I’ve neither owned nor fired one … but now that I know they’re scarce, it makes me want one.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 25, 2016, 1:41 pm
  4. They are great rifles if you buy a good one and not a parts gun from some hack (or Century..) Save the nickels and dimes and let me know if you want help finding one. And Rev., you need one too.

    Posted by Murphy's Law | July 25, 2016, 4:09 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

