you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', agenda, answers, childhood, dysfunction, Facebook, frustration, gimps, gun control, hi-skool, militia, monumental-waste-of-time, opinion, politics, repeat offenders, tactics, yutes

On Being Sisyphean

In Greek mythology Sisyphus (/ˈsɪsfəs/;[2]Greek: Σίσυφος, Sísuphos) was the king of Ephyra (now known as Corinth). He was punished for his self-aggrandizing craftiness and deceitfulness by being forced to roll an immense boulder up a hill, only to watch it come back to hit him, repeating this action for eternity. Through the classical influence on modern culture, tasks that are both laborious and futile are therefore described as Sisyphean (/ˌsɪsˈfən/).  (Wikipedia)

I’m on Facebook less (under my real name) since I’ve been producing a daily blog.  Not to mention, the idiocy encountered on FB (especially in the realm of politics) is astounding.

STILL, I do sometimes visit there, and less often participate in political commentary.  Because, sadly, there are some folks schooled in courtesy and debate, but many are not.

One of my FB friends is a guy I’ve known since grade school.  We also went to the same junior high and graduated in the same class in high school.  And attended the same Sunday school.

He claims to be an NRA member and a hunter, but sometimes repeats the time-worn arguments used by the anti-gun-rights community about controls over semiautomatic firearms and magazine capacity.

Not understanding the whole nose-under-the-tent thing, or, for that matter, The Second Amendment.

Regardless, he has a right to his opinion, and to post the same on Facebook.

I mostly just read others postings, occasionally adding my two cents worth.  Or just clicking ‘like’.

Unless I am directly attacked!

So this guy mentioned me by name and strongly suggested I knew nothing about the issue, law or history, and should understand HIS interpretation of The Second Amendment! (the whole militia meme).

I took a deep breath (to slow my roll) and responded politely that he read The Federalist Papers and Madison and Tench Coxe to obtain a better perspective!  I also recommended reading about how the first efforts on gun control were to stop freed slaves from firearms ownership (in 1809) and continued to the Sullivan Law in NYC (1911) to prevent undesirables (read immigrants) from having guns.

Then, I took another breath.

No response was posted.

BUT, in about a week, I saw another friend’s pro-gun Facebook posting generating a response from this same guy.  THE SAME RESPONSE, ALMOST VERBATIM!

Obviously, he had not taken my suggestion to do further research.

I will continue to ‘like’ his comments regarding his new retirement home in Prescott, or his new prosthesis (he is an amputee), but I won’t bother responding any more to his screeds on restricting all our rights.

‘Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.’ – George Carlin

sisyphus-shirt

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “On Being Sisyphean

  1. All one can do is put the truth out there, you can’t make ’em believe it… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | November 7, 2016, 9:37 am
  2. It is, as the old saying goes, akin to banging your head against the wall: it feels better when you stop.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 7, 2016, 11:54 am
  3. I love the George Carlin quote

    Posted by Borepatch | November 7, 2016, 5:08 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

