you're reading...
charity, diabetes, health, humor, ridiculous, TMCCC

Another Day at the Salt (Sugar) Mines

obesity_criggo

This was a Today’s Funny I posted the other day.  It reminded me of when I worked at TMCCC.

The company supported many charities.  Seemingly more each year, both nationally and locally.  And they were constantly hitting us up for more money for something.  To make the company look good.

I do remember numerous times being hit up for money for The Juvenile Diabetes Foundation, a good charity to be sure!  They usually did this by having helium balloons attached by a ribbon to a bag of peanuts or yes, a candy bar, with a note, to be given as a present or Valentine to a coworker, for a contribution.  On more than one occasion, I pointed out to management (being the smart ass I was am) that selling candy bars to promote diabetes research was akin to (that Vietnam War peacenik phrase) f***ing for chastity!

Of course, I was nicer about it, then.

I was more supportive after I was diagnosed as a diabetic.  Who knew?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Another Day at the Salt (Sugar) Mines

  1. I’ve always considered the concept a case of poor judgement, just as you do. But it never occurred to me until after the diagnosis … again, just as you did. As long as it turns out a crowd, and generates needed revenue.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | September 14, 2013, 9:59 am
  2. Yeah, what ever works… Even if it’s RONG! sigh…

    Posted by Old NFO | September 15, 2013, 2:14 am

Leave a comment

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…