you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, agenda, anger, being human, customer service, health, military, monumental-waste-of-time, politically incorrect, qualify, regulations, rights, tactics, veterans, war

About This ‘No Transgenders In The Military”…

First of all, I’ve no skin in this game.

I’ve never been able to serve, nor am I transgender.

I was classified 1-A when I initially registered for the draft, even with my fused right hip and leg being shorter.  My osteopathic surgeon sent my draft board a letter, and I was ultimately classed 4-F.

Not that I didn’t want to serve.  The plan was do a stint in the Marines, become a cop, then a fed.

To serve my country, AND to be able to carry a concealed weapon nationwide.  It was a different time.

But my leg disability put the kibosh on all that.

THEN, I was in college, and thought maybe R.O.T.C.?  The interview went like this, “Walk this way.  Now walk back this way.  You can’t march, get out!”

So much for my military career.

But, my personal life disappointments aside, there’s another point to the story.

Joining the military is NOT a RIGHT – It’s a PRIVILEGE!

And the military makes the rules.  They want every human involved to meet a minimum standard of ability.  The idea is if soldier one falls on the line, they can be replaced with soldier two.  Uniformity. (My apologies to the sailors, airmen, Marines and coasties.)

The services don’t want to be concerned with the 0.3% of Americans with unusual chromosomal makeup.  Or the larger percentage who feel they are a different gender than their biology dictates.

If you want to serve, fine.  Find another way to serve.

If you are trying to join to get the government to pay for gender reassignment surgery, forget it.

Bradley/Chelsea Manning

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “About This ‘No Transgenders In The Military”…

  1. Note Well: I am NOT picking on you (you did what you were physically able to) – but everyone CAN serve in some way. And probably should, whether it is in the military (which as you noted is not for everyone), as a volunteer fireman, CERT member. Red Cross member, and on and on. There are multitudes of volunteer opportunities that go unfilled every single day. Sadly, that spirit of service is a rare commodity these days.

    Posted by GomeznSA | July 31, 2017, 11:28 am
  2. You’ve a remarkably good grasp on the point of ‘able-bodied soldier’, for a civilian. (BIG grin – kidding. I hope you know that.) Srsly, you’ve expressed it very well. Every single soldier, sailor or airman needs to know the ability of the ones to either side, and be able to count on them. There is ZERO allowance in combat for “Sailor A can lift that 5″ shell, but Sailor B will need help.” If I can’t count on the one to whom I’ve given an order to carry out said order, then confidence & ability are both shattered, and we WILL lose that battle.

    No, thank you. The military isn’t a social experiment; it’s an organization with a VERY narrow focus (as others have said): kill people and break things. If the debate is about whether Frankie needs boxers or a bra this week, forget it.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 31, 2017, 12:59 pm
  3. +1 on Rev. And it’s about time we got away from the social engineering BS and back to actual military operations.

    Posted by Old NFO | July 31, 2017, 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

