you're reading...
basic, CCW, holidays, personal responsibility, tacticool

Beach Blanket Bingo

From Say Uncle:

What caliber for shark?

Sebastian posits that most people, even gun nuts, do not carry at the beach. And that the Tunisia beach massacre could be a terrorist template used here.

I always have a gun with me at the beach. Because the beach usually has a bunch of drunk people on it and thinks can go tango uniform in that type of scene. I do so by using this maxpedition bag which has a place just for a gun. It’s, obviously, off-body carry. While I don’t like the off body carry, it has its places. I’ve also stored them in the side pocket of a cooler. I tend to make sure I clean the gun when we get back in town due to salt and sand and general beachery.

I don’t get to the beach much, anymore.  Or even the pool.  But this post posits an interesting ‘gun carry’ problem:

Where and how does one carry near (in) water, and wearing minimal clothing?  All while keeping said sidearm ‘secure’?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Beach Blanket Bingo

  1. For me, it’s got to be a stainless J frame or baby Glock.

    I’m quite satisfied never going to the beach. Even back in my younger days when I was one of the drunks I would rather have been somewhere else. The only reason for me to be on a beach is to don scuba gear so I could get off the beach. 😉

    Posted by KM | July 8, 2015, 9:00 am
  2. Carry however – and whatever – James Bond is using these days. In the water, in the ocean, whatever … it always seems to function flawlessly after immersion. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 8, 2015, 9:26 am
  3. I never was on to lay around on the beach.
    But I always go pier/surf fishing.
    I carry my Bulldog in my front right pants/shorts pocket all the time.

    Posted by bobb topp | July 8, 2015, 10:49 am
  4. That’s an interesting question… I’d say .308, but that’s a bit much to conceal! 🙂

    Posted by Old NFO | July 8, 2015, 6:42 pm

Leave a comment

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…