you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', anniversary, being human, freedom, history, patriotism, remembering, war

MEMORIAL DAY 2017

There will be many posts on the blogs today regarding Memorial Day.  Hopefully, most of them remind us that originally it was called Decoration Day, and that families took flags and flowers to remember those family members who had passed too early in war.  Or had just passed.  Sometimes they’d even bring picnic foods to celebrate the person’s life.

Obviously, this has evolved into just a picnic holiday, forgetting the original meaning.  After all, it is the official beginning of Summer, and we get off work, school, etc.  And those who have gone before are still there, forgotten.  And hey, Target has a sale!

(I was in Walmart yesterday.  They had banners proclaiming ‘Happy Memorial Day’.  Obviously, someone in the art dept. doesn’t get it.)

I remember one Memorial Day in 1977.  My Dad drafted me to come with him to visit the grave of my Mother, who passed when I was in the second grade.  We didn’t come here often, and being 24, I’d just-as-soon have been anywhere else.  And, my Dad mumbled something about his joining her soon.  I thought he was just being maudlin.

Three months later he joined her.  He knew something, and kept it a secret.

Please take a moment today, while you’re swimming, fishing, boating, picnicking, drinking beer, or partying to remember those who have gone before.  It’s the least you can do.

And, as always, hug those still with you and tell them you love them.  Do it NOW.  You never know.

(I posted the above a few years back, but thought it worth repeating.)

It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived.  –   George S. Patton

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “MEMORIAL DAY 2017

  1. Yes, you are correct. This isn’t a day to celebrate, but to commemorate…

    Posted by Old NFO | May 29, 2017, 3:34 pm
  2. Thank you for getting it, my friend, and for getting it right.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 30, 2017, 6:37 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

