you're reading...
Uncategorized

Second Chemo +

A difficult past twenty-four hours.

Arrived at the doc’s office for chemo. Not on the schedule – was scheduled a week ago. 

After some emotional back and forth, (with thanks again to my Sister, who has been madame ombudsman for many of my trials) and my ex-wife, who provided transportation (through the American Cancer Society last week and this) who got in the face of the doctor and staff to get the error corrected, saw the doctor both at the car and in the office before a decision was made. 

I was to be admitted overnight to the adjacent hospital to take the chemo and for observation. 

Part of the reason why is he had no aids beefy enough to assist me moving from the car to the wheelchair ; and wheelchair to chemo recliner. 

So I went to the the hospital and waited two hours in the painful chair for admission. 

Finally got into a bed around 1100 – chemo began after 1400.

They left after 0130 Saturday – chemo began on Friday.

Hardly the five /six hour time frame it would have been in the doc’s office. 

Then, blood work @ 0200, vitals @ 0500,an IV @ 0600, pain from too rapid infusion @ 0620.

HARDLY A GOOD NIGHT SLEEP! 

The ‘good news’ – no ill effects (nausea) as yet from the chemo! 

The ‘less than good’ news – the oncologist, based on my age and weakness gives me a prognosis of 20-30% of beating this variety of lymphoma!

Quality of Life? 

The assisted care facility is of poor quality. 

Hardly quality of life. 

Do I give up and move to a hospice or home? 

Judy doesn’t have the tools to care for me 24/7. And I don’t want her to be forced to watch me deteriorate. And go. 

I have new (theoretically better?) insurance after 1 January, so there may be other options soon. 

And I may get one or two more chemos out of this insurance. 

Guess it’s up to me to decide. 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “Second Chemo +

  1. Those are some tough choices. Prayers continue!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 23, 2017, 8:47 am
  2. Courage, GFA.

    Posted by Borepatch | December 23, 2017, 9:24 am
  3. I hope the new insurance will get things squared away.
    The illness alone is enough of a butt kicker but dealing with that and BS has got to feel like the bottom of a well.
    Keep your head up.

    Prayers for you Guff.

    Posted by KM | December 23, 2017, 2:45 pm
  4. Thoughts and prayers, sir. Hang in for the new insurance, and hopefully better conditions.

    Posted by Old NFO | December 23, 2017, 9:37 pm
  5. Prayers, GFA. Try to keep your spirits up and get a laugh whenever you can.

    We’re rooting for you.

    Posted by SiGraybeard | December 24, 2017, 8:17 pm
  6. Hugs, brother.

    Posted by Mark | December 25, 2017, 7:21 pm
  7. More prayers. Hang in there.

    Posted by Wilson | December 26, 2017, 8:04 am
  8. Hard to tell. Hope you’re OK. Best wishes for a happier new year.
    Q

    Posted by Quizikle | December 28, 2017, 5:36 pm

Leave a comment

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…